The Tombs of Atuan (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 2)

4.08 avg rating
( 72,644 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140306323: The Tombs of Atuan (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

The tombs of Atuan had stood there since the time of the first men - since Earthsea was first created. When Tenar was 14 she came into her full powers as High Priestess of the Nameless Ones and had to go alone through the tombs under the kingdom of Earthsea. This is the second book in a quartet.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


Often compared to Tolkien's Middle-earth or Lewis's Narnia, Ursula K. Le Guin's Earthsea is a stunning fantasy world that grabs quickly at our hearts, pulling us deeply into its imaginary realms. Four books (A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore, and Tehanu) tell the whole Earthsea cycle--a tale about a reckless, awkward boy named Sparrowhawk who becomes a wizard's apprentice after the wizard reveals Sparrowhawk's true name. The boy comes to realize that his fate may be far more important than he ever dreamed possible. Le Guin challenges her readers to think about the power of language, how in the act of naming the world around us we actually create that world. Teens, especially, will be inspired by the way Le Guin allows her characters to evolve and grow into their own powers.

In this second book of Le Guin's Earthsea series, readers will meet Tenar, a priestess to the "Nameless Ones" who guard the catacombs of the Tombs of Atuan. Only Tenar knows the passageways of this dark labyrinth, and only she can lead the young wizard Sparrowhawk, who stumbles into its maze, to the greatest treasure of all. Will she?

From the Publisher:

Ursula K. Le Guin's Earthsea cycle has become one of the best-loved fantasies of our time. The windswept world of Earthsea is one of the greatest creations in all fantasy literature, frequently compared with J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle Earth or C.S. Lewis'Narnia. The magnificent saga begins with A Wizard Of Earthsea, continues in The Tombs Of Atuan and The Farthest Shore, and concludes with Tehanu --each book a treasure of wisdom, wonder, and literary wizardry. When she was still a child, Tenar was stripped of her name and family and dedicated as high priestess to the Nameless Ones, dark powers of The Tombs of Atuan. This is the tale of the young wizard, Ged, who came to the forbidden labyrinth to steal its greatest treasure--the Ring of Erreth-Akbe--and stayed to set Tenar free and lead her out of darkness.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780689845369: The Tombs of Atuan (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 2)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0689845367 ISBN 13:  9780689845369
Publisher: Aladdin Paperbacks, 2001

9781442459915: The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea Cycle)

Athene..., 2012

9781442459908: The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea Cycle)

Athene..., 2012

9780553273311: The Tombs of Atuan (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 2)

Spectra, 1984

9780689206801: The Tombs of Atuan (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 2)

Athene..., 1971

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Ursula K. Le Guin
Published by Puffin (1974)
ISBN 10: 0140306323 ISBN 13: 9780140306323
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Puffin, 1974. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0140306323

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 88.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds