Items related to Swamp Angel

Isaacs, Anne Swamp Angel ISBN 13: 9780140559088

Swamp Angel - Softcover

 
9780140559088: Swamp Angel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
Swamp Angel can lasso a tornado, and drink an entire lake dry. She single-handedly defeats the fearsome bear known as Thundering Tarnation, wrestling him from the top of the Great Smoky Mountains to the bottom of a deep lake. Caldecott Medal-winning artist Paul O. Zelinsky's stunning folk-art paintings are the perfect match for the irony, exaggeration, and sheer good humor of this original tall tale set on the American frontier.

A Caldecott Honor Book
An ALA Notable Book
A Time magazine Best Book of the Year
A New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of the Year
Winner of the Boston Globe/Horn Book Award
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
On the day of her birth, nothing about Angelica Longrider suggested that she would one day become the greatest woodswoman of Tennessee. In fact, the newborn was "scarcely taller than her mother and couldn't climb a tree without help." It's not long, though, before Angelica is vanquishing varmints such as Thundering Tarnation, a huge bear with a taste for settlers' winter rations, and swallowing entire lakes in a gulp.

This tallest of tall tales is an original from an intriguing newcomer to children's books, Anne Isaacs. In the tradition of Paul Bunyan and Pecos Bill, the story of a self-sufficient, tornado-wielding, unflappable heroine lopes along at a perfect pace. Paul O. Zelinsky's folksy oil illustrations are painted on cherry, maple, or birch veneers, with old-fashioned frames; the extravagant and fanciful paintings have garnered the distinguished illustrator yet another Caldecott Honor. (Zelinsky has already received one Caldecott Medal for Rapunzel and two Caldecott Honors for Hansel and Gretel and Rumpelstiltskin.) The dry and fantastically far-fetched humor of the author-illustrator team will make readers of all ages feel as though Angelica herself has tossed 'em in the air so high that they are still on the way up at nightfall. (Ages 4 and older) --Emilie Coulter

From the Publisher:
SWAMP ANGEL LIST OF AWARDS AND HONORS

1994 Caldecott Honor Book 1995 Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book 1994 ALA Notable Book New York Times Best Illustrated Books of 1994 School Library Journal Best Books of 1994 Booklist Children's Editors Choices 1994 Publisher's Weekly Best Books of 1994 NCSS--Children's Book Center "Notable" list--Social Studies, 1995 The Bulletin, Blue Ribbon Book, 1994 The Horn Book Fanfare, 1994 Time Magazine's 8 Best Children's Books, 1994 Parenting Magazine Reading-Magic Award, 10 Best Books of 1994 Child Study Children's Book Committee--Children's Book of the Year list 1995 Notable Trade Book in Language Arts, National Council of Teachers of English 1995 New York Book Show (2 awards, Cover and Book categories)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherPuffin Books
  • Publication date2000
  • ISBN 10 0140559086
  • ISBN 13 9780140559088
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages40
  • IllustratorZelinsky Paul O.
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780525452713: Swamp Angel (Caldecott Honor Book)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0525452710 ISBN 13:  9780525452713
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers, 1994
Hardcover

  • 9780590960380: Swamp Angel

    Schola..., 1994
    Softcover

  • 9780440833260: Swamp Angel

    Dutton..., 1995
    Hardcover

  • 9788949110714: Swamp Angel

    Biryon..., 2001
    Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Isaacs, Anne
Published by Puffin Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780140559088B

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 5.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Isaacs, Anne; Zelinsky, Paul O. (ILT)
Published by Puffin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 490652-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anne Isaacs
Published by Puffin Books January 2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Paper Back Quantity: 1
Seller:
Isle of Books
(Bozeman, MT, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paper Back. Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 309266

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Isaacs, Anne (Author); Zelinsky, Paul O. (Illustrator)
Published by Penguin Random House (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Brand New. Seller Inventory # 9780140559088

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Isaacs, Anne
Published by Puffin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books Unplugged
(Amherst, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition 0.42. Seller Inventory # bk0140559086xvz189zvxnew

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 13.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Isaacs, Anne
Published by Puffin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published 0.42. Seller Inventory # 353-0140559086-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 13.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

ANNE ISAACS
Published by Puffin January 2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Paper Back Quantity: 1
Seller:
Eighth Day Books, LLC
(Wichita, KS, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paper Back. Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 8147

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Isaacs, Anne
Published by Puffin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
APlus Textbooks
(Alpharetta, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). Limited Copies Available - New Condition - Never Used - DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY CDs OR ACCESS CODES IF APPLICABLE. Seller Inventory # 0140559086N

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anne Isaacs
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Books Puddle
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). pp. 40. Seller Inventory # 26661165

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Isaacs Anne
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140559086 ISBN 13: 9780140559088
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Majestic Books
(Hounslow, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Zelinsky, Paul O. (illustrator). pp. 40. Seller Inventory # 8235378

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.26
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book