Fiction Polly Holyoke The Neptune Conspiracy

ISBN 13: 9780141341163

The Neptune Conspiracy

4.21 avg rating
( 2,085 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141341163: The Neptune Conspiracy

Nere has never understood why she feels so much more comfortable and confident in water than on land, but everything falls into place when Nere learns that she is one of a group of kids who-unbeknownst to them-have been genetically altered to survive in the ocean. These products of "The Neptune Project" will be able to build a better future under the sea, safe from the barren country's famine, wars, and harsh laws.
But there are some very big problems: no one asked Nere if she wanted to be a science experiment, the other Neptune kids aren't exactly the friendliest bunch, and in order to reach the safe haven of the Neptune colony, Nere and her fellow mutates must swim through hundreds of miles of dangerous waters, relying only on their wits, dolphins, and each other to evade terrifying undersea creatures and a government that will stop at nothing to capture the Neptune kids...dead or alive.
Fierce battles and daring escapes abound as Nere and her friends race to safety in this action-packed aquatic adventure.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Polly Holyoke grew up in Colorado, where she spent her childhood skiing, camping, reading, and dreaming up fantastical stories. Polly went on to graduate from Middlebury College and become a middle school social studies teacher. She lives in Plano, Texas with her husband and their two daughters, as well as two cats, two Chihuahuas, and a Beagle.

Review:

Here is a dystopian novel with a neat underwater twist. Nere and her mother, Gillian, live in a world almost destroyed by global warming and under the thumb of a totalitarian government, the Western Collective. Still, Nere can concentrate on her passion for dolphins (with whom she can telepathically communicate) until the ax falls. First, the government decides to move the residents of her area away from the sea. Then, Nere learns that she has been part of the Neptune Project. Gillian has altered Nere's genes so that she can be one of the first humans to live entirely underwater. With relocation imminent, Nere is given an injection that finishes her transformation. But no one has taken into account Nere's wishes. Feeling betrayed, Nere isn't sure that she wants to participate, nor does she want to swim across the sea to join the rest of the colony. Although the writing is pedestrian, the adventure element is a real draw. That Nere can experience regular kid situations throughout all of this-friend issues, parental problems-makes the story relatable, even if her best pals are (totally terrific) dolphins.- Ilene Cooper Booklist Online"

4Q 4P M J Nere feels like a freak with her pale skin, thick glasses, and weak lungs. She would rather swim with the dolphins her scientist mother studies than spend time on land with kids her own age. When an authoritarian government commands her village to move inland, Nere finds out how different she truly is-her parents biologically engineered her to live underwater. Now she is suddenly living in the sea with a group of kids she has never met before, facing dangers from both the open ocean and humans bent on capturing them. But for an outcast like Nere, the greatest challenge of all might be fitting in with her fellow mutates and learning how to lead them. At first The Neptune Project seems like yet another young adult dystopian knockoff: autocratic government, genetically altered teens-we have seen it before. But after a slow start, it suddenly turns into an adventure novel. Almost every chapter ends with a cliff-hanger, forcing the reader to flip the page for more. In addition, the book revels in the beauty of the underwater world and the creatures that inhabit it. The relationship between the teenagers and the dolphins-who actually become characters themselves-is especially well crafted. There is even a touch of romance when Nere becomes the object of a romantic rivalry between two boys-quiet, reliable Tobin and sarcastic, daring Dai. With both romance and adventure, The Neptune Project will attract male and female readers.-Cheryl Clark. VOYA"

Fall 2013. Rating: 3 Rec'd grade level: 4-6 In a devastated post global warming country overtaken by a tyrannical government, Nere and her classmates, known as the Neptune children, are genetically altered to survive underwater and create a new human colony beneath the ocean. This fast-paced science fiction adventure with well-developed characters offers a vivid and exciting oceanic setting complete with villains, dangerous sea creatures, and protective dolphin friends. Horn Book Guide"

Several centuries after global warming has devastated the planet, a tyrannical government has taken control of the West Coast of America. In a small seaside community in what was Southern California, Nere lives with her scientist mother and a pod of trained dolphins. Unbeknownst to Nere, her parents have genetically engineered her and several other children to breathe under water so they can live free there someday. When the government announces its intention to move the entire community inland, Nere's mother finishes the alterations on the children and sends them away into the sea, where they will try to join Nere's father's colony for these new "Neptune children." Nere and her friends, along with their friendly dolphins, must make their way there under the sea while fighting sharks and avoiding capture by government forces. They communicate telepathically, and Nere is even able to talk with the dolphins. Together with other Neptune children from Southern California, they head north, hiding and fighting all the way. Holyoke keeps her prose well-pitched to her audience, providing enough violence and even death to create suspense but muting it appropriately. She creates an interesting and diverse set of characters, including the dolphins. The science-fiction elements are nothing new, but they are built on good information about oceanography. This suspenseful, undersea dystopia should keep middle schoolers hooked. (Science fiction. 9-12) Kirkus"

Gr 6-8 In this dystopian adventure, Earth can no longer sustain life in many places and the United States has devolved into a totalitarian government. Nere lives by the ocean and has always had an affinity for water. She thinks nothing of her comfort with the sea until the day her mother breaks the news that Nere is a product of a genetic-mutations experiment called the Neptune Project. Now the government wants to close down the project and kill all involved. Nere and two other children are given injections that finalize their mutations and enable them to breathe water. Their journey through the ocean to asylum isn't easy, but with some help from Nere's telepathically linked dolphin friends and other Neptune Project victims the kids just might make it if they can stop quarreling among themselves. This is an enjoyable book, with lots of adventure, suspense, and underwater scenes. The novel hits the target audience right between the eyes on "hot button" issues, especially global warming and its consequences, but should be popular with readers who are looking for a slightly different dystopian adventure or those who just dream of living in the ocean and playing with dolphins. Saleena L. Davidson, South Brunswick Public Library, Monmouth Junction, NJ SLJ"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Polly Holyoke
Published by Puffin Books/Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books/Penguin Books, 2014. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Printed Pages: 0. Bookseller Inventory # 77936

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.71
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Polly Holyoke
Published by Puffin Books/Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
A - Z Books
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books/Penguin Books, 2014. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Printed Pages: 0. Bookseller Inventory # 77936

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.89
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Polly Holyoke
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. The Neptune Project by Polly Holyoke is a brilliantly pacy survival story. Readers who loved The Hunger Games or Gone will be thrilled by it.Land is shrinking. The sea is rising. Time is r.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 352 pages. 0.250. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141341163

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Polly Holyoke
Published by Penguin UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Media Mall
(Fyshwick, ACT, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin UK, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. Land is shrinking. The sea is rising. Time is running out. Nere has always felt at home in the sea. But she never imagined she'd have to leave the land behind forever, until she finds out she's part of the Neptune Conspiracy. She has been adapted to survive underwater. Under the careful watch of the enigmatic Dai, Nere is nominated to lead a group of kids across miles of ocean. Her survival skills will be put to the ultimate test. Guided by their faithful dolphin pod, they face the ocean's deadliest creatures, and close behind the government's savage dive team are determined to capture them, dead or alive . . . Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # MM-40019819

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.90
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Polly Holyoke
Published by Puffin (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110141341165

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Polly Holyoke
ISBN 10: 0141341165 ISBN 13: 9780141341163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. The Neptune Project by Polly Holyoke is a brilliantly pacy survival story. Readers who loved The Hunger Games or Gone will be thrilled by it.Land is shrinking. The sea is risi.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 352 pages. 0.250. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141341163

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds