Nina Bawden Carrie's War (A Puffin Book)

ISBN 13: 9780141354903

Carrie's War (A Puffin Book)

3.89 avg rating
( 6,481 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141354903: Carrie's War (A Puffin Book)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime. Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes. Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life... Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years. 'Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph ***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.*** Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87. Also available in A Puffin Book: GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian CHARLOTTE'S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E. B. White THE BORROWERS by Mary Norton STIG OF THE DUMP by Clive King ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. Taylor A DOG SO SMALL by Philippa Pearce GOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray Williams CARRIE'S WAR by Nina Bawden MRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O'Brien A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'Engle THE CAY by Theodore Taylor TARKA THE OTTER by Henry Williamson WATERSHIP DOWN by Richard Adams SMITH by Leon Garfield THE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael Ende ANNIE by Thomas Meehan THE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.

From AudioFile:

Carrie's reluctance to tell the story of her childhood relocation to the Welsh countryside during World War II intrigues the listener. The superstitious folklore surrounding the rural wartime setting, as well as the events that take place during Carrie's visit and haunt her memory as an adult also capture the listener's attention. Equally impressive is Zelah Clark's portrayal of the characters–from Carrie's innocent sounding younger brother, to the grouchy voice of the children's reluctant guardian, Mr. Evans. Romantic and historical fiction fans will enjoy this well-performed program. M.P.T. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780141333304: Carrie's War (A Puffin Book)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0141333308 ISBN 13:  9780141333304
Publisher: Puffin Books
Softcover

9780141345185: Carrie's War

Puffin, 2013
Softcover

9780397314508: Carrie's War

Harper..., 1992
Library Binding

9781840027204: Carrie's War (Oberon Plays for Younger People)

Oberon..., 2007
Softcover

9780140364569: Puffin Modern Classics Carries War

Puffin, 2005
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bawden, Nina
Published by Puffin
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Heidle S
(NEW MARSKE, REDCA, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0141354909 Brand New , Printed in English , we ship from UK , EU ,fast delivery wordwide ( 5-8 business days ). Seller Inventory # 121H17238

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds
International Edition
International Edition

2.

Nina Bawden
Published by PUFFIN BOOKS
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New softcover Quantity Available: 10
International Edition
Seller:
SLR_LCC
(JAMAICA, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PUFFIN BOOKS. softcover. Condition: Brand New. International Edition. International Edition, Cover & ISBN may be different from US edition, PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. Brand New,Softcover,No Access code & No context dvd, But Contents are same as US Edition. Printed in English Language, Prompt shipping by USPS/,UPS/,DHL/,FedEx. Exceptional customer Service, Satisfaction Guaranteed. We may ship the books from Asian regions for inventory purpose. "Special Note" We do provide service on APO BOX & PO BOX addresses only in usa. Seller Inventory # praksh12124

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nina Bawden
Published by Puffin (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0141354909

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

BAWDEN, NINA
Published by PENGUIN CLASSICS (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New Otros Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Diwan
(Madrid, Spain)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PENGUIN CLASSICS, 2014. Otros. Condition: Nuevo. 01/05/2014. Seller Inventory # 600700

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.10
From Spain to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nina Bawden
Published by Puffin (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Book Saga
(NEW DELHI, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2014. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780141354903

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.69
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bawden, Nina (Author)/ Julia, Eccleshare (Introduction by)
Published by Puffin (2014)
ISBN 10: 0141354909 ISBN 13: 9780141354903
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2014. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 240 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0141354909

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds