Obsidian Mirror (Package may vary)

3.67 avg rating
( 2,054 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780142426777: Obsidian Mirror (Package may vary)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Shakespeare, Grimm, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Catherine Fisher (www.catherine-fisher.co.uk and www.incarceronbook.com) acclaimed poet and novelist, was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She was named the first Children’s Laureate of Wales and was invited to Buckingham Palace to meet Queen Elizabeth. She is the author of the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling books Incarceron and Sapphique.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 6 Up-In an exciting opening chapter, Jack Wilde's plan to get kicked out of boarding school works perfectly. He is sent to his wealthy guardian's home in the English countryside, where he plans to confront his guardian and godfather, Oberon Venn, about his father's disappearance. The teen suspects Venn of murder, but discovers that the truth is far more complicated. Venn, his butler, and numerous cats rattle around in Wintercombe Abbey, working on experiments with the Chronoptika, an ancient device that allows people to travel through time. The machine's history is murky and there are no instructions as to its safe use. Sarah, a young woman with her own secrets and interests in the Chronoptika's power, joins the household. A scarred man, an evil Replicant, and a Time Wolf prowl around, and the Wood surrounding the Abbey is full of hidden dangers. There is a notebook that communicates with the future, and in the Wood, the Shee add a Celtic fairy element to the story. The plot is told from varying points of view and set in different times. During his time travels, Jack trails his father to 1848 London, where he is befriended by a street urchin before being sucked back to the present. Sarah, in turn, is from a future that will be desolate if she does not complete her mission. The several interesting story lines have their moments, but the many loose ends make it clear that this trilogy opener is not meant to stand alone.-Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley School, Fort Worth, TXα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781410457684: Obsidian Mirror (Chronoptika)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1410457680 ISBN 13:  9781410457684
Publisher: Thorndike Press, 2013
Library Binding

9780803739697: Obsidian Mirror

Dial B..., 2013
Hardcover

9780340970089: Shakespeare Quartet: The Obsidian Mirror

Hachet..., 2012
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fisher, Catherine
Published by Firebird
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Firebird. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Fisher, Catherine
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19765869-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Fisher, Catherine
Published by Firebird (2014)
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Firebird, 2014. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0142426776_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Fisher, Catherine
Published by Firebird (2014)
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Firebird, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 0142426776

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Catherine Fisher
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 378 pages. 0.363. Seller Inventory # 9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Fisher, Catherine
Published by Firebird
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Firebird. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0142426776 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Catherine Fisher (author)
Published by Penguin Young Readers Group 2014-03-06, New York, New York (2014)
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Young Readers Group 2014-03-06, New York, New York, 2014. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Fisher, Catherine
Published by Firebird (2014)
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Firebird, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0142426776

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Catherine Fisher
Published by Firebird
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Firebird. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Catherine Fisher
Published by Firebird 2014-03-06 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0142426776 ISBN 13: 9780142426777
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Firebird 2014-03-06, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9780142426777

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book