The Island of the Day Before

3.44 avg rating
( 11,590 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before

In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessel’s mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his era’s obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198

From the Back Cover:

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pleasant Nights Bookshop
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 009035

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Umberto Eco
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Our Ranking is Your Confidence! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. Bookseller Inventory # 1XGDJP001LA9_ns

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Umberto Eco, William Weaver (Translator)
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0151001510

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Harcourt Brace & Company (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Renaissance Books
(Riverside, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace & Company, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. 1st Edition. A novel of a shipwrecked sailor, living on an island on one side of the international date line. By the author of "The Name of the Rose". 513 pages. Published @ $25.00. Bookseller Inventory # 1290

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Harcourt (1994)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt, 1994. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition.... New York: Harcourt, 1994. First Edition. First printing. Hardbound. New in dust jacket. A perfect unread copy. Chosen as one of ten best books of year by NY Times Book review. Translated by William Weaver. 515 pages. A perfect new unopened copy. Pristine! 0.0. Bookseller Inventory # 4873

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Umberto Eco
Published by U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. Bookseller Inventory # 2A-41-A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Umberto Eco
Published by U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Far Fetched Books
(Leavenworth, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st Edition. Advance Reading copy precedes publication with complete letter line (A-E). Unmarked, very bright, extremely tight, unread copy in pristine condition. A beautiful uncorrupted copy. Carefully bubble-wrapped and ships in sturdy box. Bookseller Inventory # 2601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace, New York (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bayleaf Books
(Port Orchard, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace, New York, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. 1st Edition. Brand new First US Edition First Printing translated from Italian by William Weaver. Includes introductory promotional postcard with photo of author. Bookseller Inventory # 001270

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Harcourt Brace, New York, U.S.A. (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
rarefirsts
(Charlotte Hall, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace, New York, U.S.A., 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First Edition stated, with correct letterr line sequence, no writing, marks, underlining, or bookplates. No remainder marks. Spine is tight and crisp. Boards are flat and true and the corners are square. Dust jacket is not price-clipped. This collectible, " NEW" condition first edition/first printing copy is protected with a polyester archival dust jacket cover. Beautiful collectible copy. GIFT QUALITY. Bookseller Inventory # 002337

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Umberto Eco
Published by U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
3rd Man Books
(Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. new cloth.first printing. 513p. Bookseller Inventory # 02323

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book