The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

4.75 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780195165821: The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

G. J. Leigh is Emeritus Professor of Environmental Science at the University of Sussex.

Review:


"Leigh conveys a great deal of information in 220 pages of text, and does so in an easy-to-read, clear and accurate style. This is an altogether fine book."--Nature


"This is a detailed, scholarly, well-documented and illustrated work, intended for the layman but suitable for those interested in the history of agriculture, chemistry, and modern industry." --Choice


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

G. J. Leigh
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
DIANE Publishing Co.
(Darby, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New. 100% Money Back Guarantee! Ships within 1 business day, includes tracking. Carefully packed. Serving satisfied customers since 1987. Seller Inventory # 109914

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

G. J. Leigh
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0195165829

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

G. J. Leigh
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Poverty Hill Books
(Mt. Prospect, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. HARDCOVER, BRAND NEW COPY, Perfect Shape, No Black Remainder Mark, 502-609Fast Shipping With Online Tracking, International Orders shipped Global Priority Air Mail, All orders handled with care and shipped promptly in secure packaging, we ship Mon-Sat and send shipment confirmation emails. Our customer service is friendly, we answer emails fast, accept returns and work hard to deliver 100% Customer Satisfaction!. Seller Inventory # 0906280078

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

G. J. Leigh
Published by Oxford University Press (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2004. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0195165829

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Leigh, G. J.
Published by Oxford Univ Pr, Oxford - New York (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
monobooks
(Livingston, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford Univ Pr, Oxford - New York, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition 2004, first printing, number line starts with 1. Hardcover with DJ. Condition new, square tight and crisp book, no edgewear, no markings of any kind, no names no underlinings no highlights no bent page corners, Not a reminder. DJ new, bright and shiny, no tears no chips no edgewear, Not clipped. 8vo, 242 pages with b/w illustrations and including notes and index. Seller Inventory # 003410

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Leigh, G. J.
Published by Oxford University Press (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Seller Inventory # mon0000457500

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

G.J. Leigh
Published by OUP USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description OUP USA, 2004. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780195165821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

THE WORLD'S GREATEST FIX A HISTORY OF NITROGEN AND AGRICULTURE (HARDBACK) -
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2018. Condition: NEW. 9780195165821 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Print on Demand title, produced to the highest standard, and there would be a delay in dispatch of around 10 working days. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE01571402

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Leigh, G. J.
Published by Oxford University Press, USA 7/1/2004 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA 7/1/2004, 2004. Hardback or Cased Book. Condition: New. The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780195165821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 52.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Leigh, G. J.
Published by Oxford University Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 0195165829 ISBN 13: 9780195165821
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0195165829

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book