The Barsetshire Novels: 6-volume set

4.35 avg rating
( 675 ratings by Goodreads )
9780195208146: The Barsetshire Novels: 6-volume set
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Trollope's panoramic, six-volume portrayal of the professional and landed classes of Victorian England, The Barsetshire Novels, are as a group one of the great works of 19th-century English fiction. Following the intrigues of ambition and love in the cathedral town of Barchester, these novels--the first serial fiction in English literature--include both Trollope's most popular novel, Barchester Towers, as well as his own personal favorite, The Last Chronicle of Barset. Now Oxford is bringing the Barsetshire Novels back in an elegantly crafted hard-bound set--with acid-free papers and durable binding--allowing readers unfamiliar with these classic volumes the perfect opportunity to enjoy them at last.
These books teem with the life of 19th-century England. Whether describing gracious country living, with croquet and tea on the lawn, or the cut and thrust of London life in the 1860s, Trollope was one of the master chroniclers of his age. But perhaps the most endearing aspect of Trollope's art are the characters he created. Here readers will find Trollope's most charming heroine, the bewitching Lily Dale; the upright clergyman Mr. Harding, central character of the first novel, The Warden; the disreputable Duke of Omnium; the reticent, stern, honorable Doctor Thorne; the amiable and breezy Stanhope family; and the oily symbol of progress Mr. Slope. Each is skillfully handled with that subtlety of ironic observation and the pleasant humor that won Trollope such a wide and appreciative readership.
Nathaniel Hawthorne hailed Trollope's novels as "just as real as if some giant had hewn a great lump out of the earth and put it under a glass case, with all its inhabitants going about their daily business and not suspecting that they were being made a show of." Few authors have captured that "daily business" with as much sensitivity and insight as Trollope.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


A series of six connected novels by Anthony Trollope set in the fictional west England county of Barset. Trollope prided himself on the scope and detail with which he imagined the geography, history, and social structure of his fictional county. Nevertheless, character interested him more than description, and many characters appear in more than one Barset novel. The Reverend Septimus Harding, whose moral dilemma is the central story of The Warden (1855), reappears amid the ecclesiastical disputes of Barchester Towers (1857). The kindly title character of Doctor Thorne (1858) weds a wealthy patent medicine heiress in Framley Parsonage (1861), a novel largely concerned with the financial scrapes of young vicar Mark Robarts. Many characters from preceding novels, including Lily Dale, whose broken engagement is the principal story of The Small House at Allington (1864), reappear in The Last Chronicle of Barset (1867). Of his 47 novels, Trollope considered The Last Chronicle his finest. -- The Merriam-Webster Encylopedia of Literature

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 120.00
US$ 4,000.00

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Anthony Trollope
Published by Oxford University Press (1989)
ISBN 10: 0195208145 ISBN 13: 9780195208146
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1989. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0195208145

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4,000.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds