The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea (Oxford Quick Reference)

4.21 avg rating
( 42 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780199205684: The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea (Oxford Quick Reference)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The most comprehensive and authoritative reference book of its kind, The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea is a completely revised and updated edition of a classic volume that was first published in 1976, to huge acclaim. It brings together more than 2,600 entries on every imaginable aspect of the seas and the vessels that sail on them, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, and marine mammals, to tidal power, piracy, and the literature and language of the sea. The Companion includes authoritative and fascinating entries on maritime history, including its greatest naval battles, like Pearl Harbor and Trafalgar, its most well-known ships, and its most famous individuals, both real and fictional.
This second edition provides significant new material on topics that have come to prominence in recent times, such as oceanography and marine archaeology. Key contributions on these subjects include climate change, environmental issues, marine pollution, and marine wildlife. Among the many brand new entries to this edition are up-to-the-minute articles on underwater vehicles, tsunamis, warfare at sea, the Economic Exclusion Zone, and ship preservation. Entries are fully cross-referenced, and the text is now illustrated with over 260 detailed drawings, making it more accessible than ever before. It will prove an essential point of reference for anyone with a professional or amateur interest in the seas, from yachtsmen, maritime historians, and oceanographers, to naval architects, environmentalists, and armchair sailors.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:


I. C. B. Dear served in the Royal Marines from 1953 to 1957. His books on maritime and military subjects includes The Oxford Companion to the Second World War, of which he is general editor.

The late Peter Kemp worked in the British Naval Intelligence Division, and subsequently became Head of Naval Historical Branch, Ministry of Defense.

From Booklist:

Oxford has made a great reference work even better. An essential for questions about the oceans and seagoing vessels, this A-Z encyclopedia compiles 2,600 scholarly entries that reflect sailing history from 3000 B.C. to the present. In addition to diagrams of -clipper-ship rigging, data on the battle against scurvy, sketches of sailor's knots, a drawing of a hornpipe dance, and names of sea battles and their participants, the updated companion offers information on environmental issues, a chart of the Beaufort scale, the global thermohaline conveyor, a map of Magellan's voyage across the Pacific, and methods of preserving archaeological finds. A 25-page cross-referencing index ties the obscure to the commonplace; for example, the reader looking up 'cutter cranks' is referred to the entry achting, and saxitoxin is cross-referenced to hale.

The writing style suits the researcher as well as the sampler who likes browsing among fascinating sea lore, details, and courageous deeds. There are entries covering sea songs, the evolution of sails, and the 1836 rescue of a ship's crew by Grace Darling, a lighthouse-keeper's daughter. For readers of Moby Dick, A Night to Remember, The Sea Wolf, or the novels of Patrick O'Brian (who has an entry), the text answers questions about shrouds and bells, mooring and lading, and more.

A meticulous reference classic, this volume belongs in most public and academic libraries and on home reference shelves. It would also delight old salts and shore dwellers as a gift. Since the first edition is more than 30 years old, the update is welcome. Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780198606161: The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea (Oxford Quick Reference)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0198606168 ISBN 13:  9780198606161
Publisher: Oxford University Press, 2005
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Published by Oxford University Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 019920568X ISBN 13: 9780199205684
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2006. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M019920568X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 87.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Published by Oxford University Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 019920568X ISBN 13: 9780199205684
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11019920568X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 108.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 019920568X ISBN 13: 9780199205684
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STORE-019920568x

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 120.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds