Paris Metro Tales (City Tales)

3.32 avg rating
( 53 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780199579808: Paris Metro Tales (City Tales)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Following Helen Constantine's highly successful Paris Tales, Paris Metro Tales offers 22 remarkable short stories set throughout Paris--all connected by the underground tunnels of its famed Metro.
The journey begins at the Gare du Nord, stops at 20 underground stations along the way, and ends at Lamarck-Caulaincourt, each story corresponding to one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris. Readers are invited to find their way through the underground, changing trains when necessary and imaginatively emerging to read a story it its original setting. The stories range from the 15th-century account of the miraculous Saint Genevieve, patron saint of Paris, through tales by favorite writers such as Zola, Simenon, Balzac, and Maupassant. Though connected by the metro, the subjects of these short stories vary widely: from Martine Delerm's gripping narrative of the last hours of Modigliani's mistress to Gérard de Nerval's rich evocation of the bustling market in Les Halles in the 1850s, Colette's unlikely involvement in a traffic accident near the Opéra, and Boulanger's fine description of a blackly funny experience in Père Lachaise. In addition to writers well known to the English-speaking world, this collection also includes French authors whose work deserves wider attention, including Frédéric Fajardie, Martine Delerm, Marie Desplechin, Paul Fournel, and Claude Dufresne. Each story is illustrated with a black-and-white photograph and the book includes a map and suggested itinerary through the metro system.
Perfect for fans of Paris Tales, connoisseurs of French fiction, and all short story enthusiasts, Paris Metro Tales offers rare glimpses of the darker side of the "City of Light."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:


Helen Constantine has published three volumes of translated stories, Paris Tales, French Tales, and Berlin Tales, and is currently editing a series of City Tales for OUP. She is married to the writer David Constantine and, with him, edits the international magazine Modern Poetry in Translation.

Review:


"The glittering surfaces of Haussmann's Paris are scratched and scrunched up into something far more elemental in Paris Metro Tales... Helen Constantine, whose unfussy translations are for the ages, has included stories from lesser known contemporary writers who are not often translated into English." --Tobias Grey, The Wall Street Journal


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: US$ 6.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Helen Constantine
Published by OUP Oxford 2011-03-24, Oxford (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description OUP Oxford 2011-03-24, Oxford, 2011. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780199579808

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Constantine, Helen
Published by Oxford University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0199579806_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Constantine, Helen (trn)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 11699194-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Helen Constantine
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Oxford University Press. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780199579808

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Helen Constantine (Translator)
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0199579806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Helen Constantine
Published by Oxford University Press, USA 2011-05-01 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA 2011-05-01, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-OUP-9780199579808

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Constantine, Helen
Published by Oxford Univ Pr (2011)
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Oxford Univ Pr, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 256 pages. 7.64x5.20x0.79 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0199579806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 36.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Constantine, Helen
ISBN 10: 0199579806 ISBN 13: 9780199579808
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # S-0199579806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 94.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds