Childers, Thomas Wings Of Morning

ISBN 13: 9780201407228

Wings Of Morning

4.28 avg rating
( 171 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780201407228: Wings Of Morning
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

On April 21, 1945, the twelve-member crew of the Black Cat set off on one of the last air missions in the European theater of World War II. Ten never came back. This is the story of that crew—where they came from, how they trained, what it was like to fly a B-24 through enemy flak, and who was waiting for them to come home.Historian Thomas Childers, nephew of the Black Cat's radio operator, has reconstructed the lives and tragic deaths of these men through their letters home and through in-depth interviews, both with their families and with German villagers who lived near the crash site. In so doing he unearths confusion about the exact number of crash survivors and ugly rumors of their fate at the hands of the German villagers. His search to determine what really happened leads him to the crash site outside of Regensburg to lay the mystery to rest.In the tradition of Young Men and Fire, Wings of Morning is history as commemoration-an evocation of people and events that brings to life a story of love, loss, and a family's quest for truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Thomas Childers is a professor of history at the University of Pennsylvania.

From Booklist:

After their son died when flak destroyed his plane on April 21, 1945, the parents of Howard Goodner endured the frustrating process of finding out from the War Department exactly what happened. They never did find out. In 1992, Goodner's mother died, having kept through the years a cache of letters her son had written home. They inspired Childers, nephew to the long-dead airman and a professional historian of Nazi electoral politics, to reconstruct his uncle Howard's and his crewmates' wartime experiences. This result, a searching and emotional exploration, powerfully evokes the tension and relaxation cycle of flying combat missions, and as Childers builds toward the fateful day, he deeply and deftly involves readers to the extent that Goodner and comrades seem to be their own relatives and their own inconsolable losses. Quite a literary feat. As Childers stands on the spot from which his uncle departed on the last (and unnecessary) mission, as he presses toward the truth through witnesses to the crash and the relative documents, it must be a stony heart that doesn't share his sorrow and tears. Imaginative and emotive, and factually unerring, this outstanding remembrance is possibly the most original title among this year's anniversary works. Gilbert Taylor

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780201483109: Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany In World War Ii

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0201483106 ISBN 13:  9780201483109
Publisher: Da Capo Press, 1995
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press 4/24/1996 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Da Capo Press 4/24/1996, 1996. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Wings of Morning: The Story of the Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany in World War II. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (2020)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Da Capo Press, 2020. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Thomas Childers
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Da Capo Press, 1996. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Da Capo Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0201407221 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Da Capo Press, 1996. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Thomas Childers
Published by INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Thomas Childers
Published by Da Capo Press 1996-04-24 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Da Capo Press 1996-04-24, 1996. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Thomas Childers
Published by Da Capo Pr (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Da Capo Pr, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 288 pages. 8.25x5.50x1.00 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # x-0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.22
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Childers, Thomas
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # S-0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Childers, Thomas
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 94.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds