Items related to Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber...

Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany In World War II - Softcover

 
9780201407228: Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany In World War II
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
On April 21, 1945, the twelve-member crew of the Black Cat set off on one of the last air missions in the European theater of World War II. Ten never came back. This is the story of that crew—where they came from, how they trained, what it was like to fly a B-24 through enemy flak, and who was waiting for them to come home.Historian Thomas Childers, nephew of the Black Cat's radio operator, has reconstructed the lives and tragic deaths of these men through their letters home and through in-depth interviews, both with their families and with German villagers who lived near the crash site. In so doing he unearths confusion about the exact number of crash survivors and ugly rumors of their fate at the hands of the German villagers. His search to determine what really happened leads him to the crash site outside of Regensburg to lay the mystery to rest.In the tradition of Young Men and Fire, Wings of Morning is history as commemoration-an evocation of people and events that brings to life a story of love, loss, and a family's quest for truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
Thomas Childers is a professor of history at the University of Pennsylvania.
From Booklist:
After their son died when flak destroyed his plane on April 21, 1945, the parents of Howard Goodner endured the frustrating process of finding out from the War Department exactly what happened. They never did find out. In 1992, Goodner's mother died, having kept through the years a cache of letters her son had written home. They inspired Childers, nephew to the long-dead airman and a professional historian of Nazi electoral politics, to reconstruct his uncle Howard's and his crewmates' wartime experiences. This result, a searching and emotional exploration, powerfully evokes the tension and relaxation cycle of flying combat missions, and as Childers builds toward the fateful day, he deeply and deftly involves readers to the extent that Goodner and comrades seem to be their own relatives and their own inconsolable losses. Quite a literary feat. As Childers stands on the spot from which his uncle departed on the last (and unnecessary) mission, as he presses toward the truth through witnesses to the crash and the relative documents, it must be a stony heart that doesn't share his sorrow and tears. Imaginative and emotive, and factually unerring, this outstanding remembrance is possibly the most original title among this year's anniversary works. Gilbert Taylor

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherDa Capo Press
  • Publication date1996
  • ISBN 10 0201407221
  • ISBN 13 9780201407228
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages288
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780201483109: Wings Of Morning: The Story Of The Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany In World War Ii

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0201483106 ISBN 13:  9780201483109
Publisher: Da Capo Press, 1995
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Thomas Childers
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Soft cover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GLENN DAVID BOOKS
(Wyomissing, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft cover. Condition: New. This is a Very Attractive, clean & bright WWII Military History soft cover in NEW condition. c1996. First Paperback Printing. (A Really nice book for the selective reader). This book is NEW and unread and in wonderful condition both inside and out. The cover is Very clean & very bright. It has very nice edges with very nice spine ends. The pages are tight & bright & unmarked, no names., and hardly any shelf wear. Not a Remainder. Photos. 276 Pages. #21706. Seller Inventory # 021706

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.87
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. 1.1. Seller Inventory # 0201407221-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (2023)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published 1.1. Seller Inventory # 353-0201407221-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 20.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press 4/24/1996 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Wings of Morning: The Story of the Last American Bomber Shot Down Over Germany in World War II 0.77. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 20.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Lucky's Textbooks
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ABLIING23Feb2215580059608

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 18.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Soft Cover Quantity: 5
Print on Demand
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 22.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_0201407221

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 21.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by Da Capo Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
California Books
(Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # I-9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 27.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Childers, Thomas
Published by DA CAPO PR INC (1996)
ISBN 10: 0201407221 ISBN 13: 9780201407228
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Softcover. Condition: New. Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780201407228

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 21.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book