Fiction Kingsley Amis Ending Up

ISBN 13: 9780224009881

Ending Up

3.68 avg rating
( 375 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780224009881: Ending Up

The title refers to how we spend our retirement years, often called "golden," though in Kingsley Amis' hands anything but.

At Tuppenny-Hapenny Cottage a clutch of oldsters, brought together more by ill fortune than blood or love, struggles with problems that range from penury to prostate. That's the good news. The rest is Amis as usual, providing fun for himself and his readers at the expense of his characters.

"Amis is one of England's great literary treasures. Readers who enjoy Evelyn Waugh or Tom Sharpe will delight in this and other Amis creations." (B-O-T Editorial Review Board)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

5 1-hour cassettes

About the Author:

Kingsley Amis's (1922-95) works take a humorous yet highly critical look at British society, especially in the period following the end of World War II. Born in London, Amis explored his disillusionment in novels such as That Uncertain Feeling (1955). His other works include The Green Man (1970), Stanley and the Women (1984), and The Old Devils (1986), which won the Booker Prize. Amis also wrote poetry, criticism, and short stories.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kingsley Amis
Published by Jonathan Cape Ltd (1974)
ISBN 10: 0224009885 ISBN 13: 9780224009881
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape Ltd, 1974. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0224009885

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 119.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds