Joyce Carol. Oates A BLOODSMOOR ROMANCE.

ISBN 13: 9780224029438

A BLOODSMOOR ROMANCE.

3.71 avg rating
( 458 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780224029438: A BLOODSMOOR ROMANCE.
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture

When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era—one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence.

Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Medal of Humanities, the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, the National Book Award, and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction, and has been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. She has written some of the most enduring fiction of our time, including We Were the Mulvaneys; Blonde, which was nominated for the National Book Award; and the New York Times bestseller The Accursed. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062269195: A Bloodsmoor Romance

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0062269194 ISBN 13:  9780062269195
Publisher: Ecco, 2013
Softcover

9780525241126: A Bloodsmoor Romance

Dutton..., 1982
Hardcover

9780446308250: A Bloodsmoor Romance

Grand ..., 1983
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Oates, Joyce Carol
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Seller Inventory # GOR003250379

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 2.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.92
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Joyce Carol Oates
Published by Jonathan Cape
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape. Hardcover. Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Seller Inventory # 3201816

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Joyce Carol Oates
Published by Jonathan Cape Ltd (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape Ltd, 1983. Befriedigend/Good: Durchschnittlich erhaltenes Buch bzw. Schutzumschlag mit Gebrauchsspuren, aber vollständigen Seiten. / Describes the average WORN book or dust jacket that has all the pages present. Seller Inventory # M00224029436-G

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Oates, Joyce Carol.
Published by Jonathan Cape (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BoundlessBookstore
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape, 1983. Condition: Very Good. VG condition book with dust jacket. DJ is clean, has fresh colours and has little wear to edges. Book has clean and bright contents with a few very light spots to page ends. Seller Inventory # 9999-9990056041

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Oates, Joyce Carol.
Published by Jonathan Cape
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
INSIGNIA BOOKS
(Doncaster, SY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape. Hardcover. Condition: Good. 0224029436. Seller Inventory # Z0045343

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.72
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Jonathan Cape Ltd 1983-01-01 (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
LowKeyBooks
(Sumas, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape Ltd 1983-01-01, 1983. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Books is in good condition. Some moderate creases and wear. This item may not come with CDs or additional parts and might be an ex-library copy. Seller Inventory # DS-0224029436-3

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 21.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Oates, Joyce Carol.
Published by Jonathan Cape (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Lover's Warehouse
(Watauga, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape, 1983. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Very Good. The binding is clean and bright with light bumping. The DJ flaps are smudged and the front top corner bears a bit of a closed tear. The spine remains free of creasing. The outer edges are smudged. The pages of this book are clean and unmarked. A good solid copy. FAST SHIPPING & FREE TRACKING!. Seller Inventory # 150861

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 17.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Tom Wolfe
Published by Jonathon Cape (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookLovers of Bath
(Peasedown St. John, BATH, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathon Cape, 1983. Paperback. | 8" x 5½". 398pp. | For more photos or information, use the «Ask Bookseller» button and I'll be pleased to help. The book is in stock and ships from the rustic nirvana of Peasedown St. John, near Bath, England from a long-established bookseller - guaranteed by my reputation and the UK Distance Selling Act. Remember! BUYING THIS BOOK means my Jack Russells get their supper! Condition :: Poor. A copy for reading rather than admiring, generally shabby but text complete and acceptable. Heavy reading creases to the spine. Notably rubbed at the outside edges of the covers and spine. Seller Inventory # 102505

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 17.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Jonathan Cape, London (1983)
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Roger Lucas Booksellers
(Horncastle, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jonathan Cape, London, 1983. Hard Cover. Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. First Edition. 1st UK edition, large 8vo, 615pp, VG+ Copy in VG+ DJ Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Seller Inventory # 38826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 13.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.14
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

JOYCE CAROL OATES
Published by jonathan cape
ISBN 10: 0224029436 ISBN 13: 9780224029438
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Barclay Books
(York, WA, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description jonathan cape. HARDCOVER. 1983. First UK edition. A near fine copy only marked by light browning of the edges of the text block. The d/w is fine and now in a protective cover. Seller Inventory # 7194359

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 14.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 26.50
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds