Great British Bakes: Forgotten Treasures for Modern Bakers

4.33 avg rating
( 18 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780224095563: Great British Bakes: Forgotten Treasures for Modern Bakers

Simple recipes for cakes, biscuits, pies, puddings, and desserts that celebrate Britain's glorious baking heritage, from Great British Bake Off favorite, Mary-Anne Boermans   Food writer and baker extraordinaire Mary-Anne Boermans has delved into the UK’s fine baking history to rediscover the long-forgotten recipes of our past. These are recipes that fill a cook with confidence, honed and perfected over centuries and lovingly adapted for use in 21st-century kitchens. Here you will find such tempting delights as Welsh Honey Cake, Lace Meringues, Rich Orange Tart, Butter Buns, Pearl Biscuits, and Chocolate Meringue Pie. They are triple-tested recipes that do not rely on processed, pre-packaged ingredients, and they are all delicious. And Mary-Anne reveals the stories behind the bakes, with tales of escaped princes, hungry politicians, and royal days out to sample the delicacies of Britain’s historic bakeries. This very special collection sits confidently among the best of British cookery writing, with recipes that have stood the test of time and that will both surprise and delight for years to come. With a foreword by Great British Bakes and Supersizers Go... presenter, Sue Perkins, this book is perfect for fans of Great British Bake Off, Victorian/Edwardian Farm; Supersizers Go, and readers of Mary Berry, Clarissa Dickson Wright, and Rose Prince. Also included is fascinating new research into the history of Chelsea buns, the date of the first doughnuts, and more.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Mary-Anne Boermans was a finalist in the 2011 series of The Great British Bake Off, and is now a successful food blogger. She has been cooking and baking for more than 40 years. Sue Perkins is a radio and TV presenter, notably for Great British Bakes and Supersizers Go.

Review:

"A totally delightful and original book." —Daily Mail, Food Book of the Week

"A book that’s as fascinating to read as it is to bake from." —Erica Wagner, Financial Times

"An immaculately researched and fascinating book which would be a worthwhile addition to any cookery book shelf." —Mark Whitley, Countryman

"An inspired collection." —Daily Telegraph, Top 10 Cookbooks for Christmas

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 36.95
US$ 6.99

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 8.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Boermans, Mary-Anne
Published by Square Peg (2013)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Square Peg, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000106636

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Boermans, Mary-Anne
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Book Condition: New. Examines UK's fine baking history to rediscover the long-forgotten recipes of our past. This book tells the stories behind the bakes, with tales of escaped princes, hungry politicians and royal days out to sample the delicacies of Britain's historic bakeries. Num Pages: 352 pages, f/c photographs plus illustrations throughout. BIC Classification: WBVS. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 226 x 145 x 40. Weight in Grams: 960. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Boermans, Mary-Anne
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. Examines UK's fine baking history to rediscover the long-forgotten recipes of our past. This book tells the stories behind the bakes, with tales of escaped princes, hungry politicians and royal days out to sample the delicacies of Britain's historic bakeries. Num Pages: 352 pages, f/c photographs plus illustrations throughout. BIC Classification: WBVS. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 226 x 145 x 40. Weight in Grams: 960. . 2015. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. *Winner of the Guild of Food Writers First Book Award 2014* Food writer and baker extraordinaire Mary-Anne Boermans has delved into the UK s fine baking history to rediscover the long-forgotten recipes of our past. These are recipes that fill a cook with confidence, honed and perfected over centuries and lovingly adapted for use in 21st-century kitchens. Here you will find such tempting delights as Welsh Honey Cake, Lace Meringues, Rich Orange Tart, Butter Buns, Pearl Biscuits and Chocolate Meringue Pie. They are triple-tested recipes that do not rely on processed, pre-packaged ingredients and they are all delicious. And Mary-Anne reveals the stories behind the bakes, with tales of escaped princes, hungry politicians and royal days out to sample the delicacies of Britain s historic bakeries. This very special collection sits confidently among the best of British cookery writing, with recipes that have stood the test of time and that will both surprise and delight for years to come. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. *Winner of the Guild of Food Writers First Book Award 2014* Food writer and baker extraordinaire Mary-Anne Boermans has delved into the UK s fine baking history to rediscover the long-forgotten recipes of our past. These are recipes that fill a cook with confidence, honed and perfected over centuries and lovingly adapted for use in 21st-century kitchens. Here you will find such tempting delights as Welsh Honey Cake, Lace Meringues, Rich Orange Tart, Butter Buns, Pearl Biscuits and Chocolate Meringue Pie. They are triple-tested recipes that do not rely on processed, pre-packaged ingredients and they are all delicious. And Mary-Anne reveals the stories behind the bakes, with tales of escaped princes, hungry politicians and royal days out to sample the delicacies of Britain s historic bakeries. This very special collection sits confidently among the best of British cookery writing, with recipes that have stood the test of time and that will both surprise and delight for years to come. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Square Peg
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Square Peg. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Boermans, Mary-Anne
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Square Peg (2013)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Square Peg, 2013. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.51
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Random House UK (2015)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0224095560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mary-Anne Boermans
Published by Random House 2013-11-07, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0224095560 ISBN 13: 9780224095563
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2013-11-07, London, 2013. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780224095563

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book