The Selected Poems of Fulke Greville

4.16 avg rating
( 19 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780226308463: The Selected Poems of Fulke Greville
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Along with his childhood friend Sir Philip Sidney, Fulke Greville (1554–1628) was an important member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Although his poems, long out of print, are today less well known than those of Sidney, Spenser, or Shakespeare, Greville left an indelible mark on the world of Renaissance poetry, both in his love poems, which ably work within the English Petrarchan tradition, and in his religious meditations, which, along with the work of Donne and Herbert, stand as a highpoint of early Protestant poetics.

Back in print for a new generation of scholars and readers, Thom Gunn’s selection of Greville’s short poems includes the whole of Greville’s lyric sequence, Caelica, along with choruses from some of Greville’s verse dramas. Gunn’s introduction places Greville’s thought in historical context and in relation to the existential anxieties that came to preoccupy writers in the twentieth century. It is as revealing about Gunn himself, and the reading of earlier English verse in the 1960s, as it is about Greville’s own poetic achievement. This reissue of Selected Poems of Fulke Greville is an event of the first order both for students of early British literature and for readers of Thom Gunn and English poetry generally.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Thom Gunn (1929–2004) is the author of nine books of poems, including The Man with Night Sweats and Boss Cupid.

Bradin Cormack is associate professor of English at the University of Chicago. He is the author ofA Power to Do Justice: Jurisdiction, English Literature, and the Rise of Common Law, 1509-1625, also published by the University of Chicago Press.

Review:

“Thom Gunn's edition of Fulke Greville’s poems is doubly welcome. It makes available, in a handsome and reader-friendly volume, the austere, compelling lyrics of one of the masters of Elizabethan poetry. And through Gunn’s long Introduction and Bradin Cormack’s Afterword, it sheds light on Gunn himself, one of the finest poets of the twentieth century."

(Paul Alpers 2008-09-16)

"Greville is probably the greatest poet unknown to many readers. The force of his imagination, his driven intelligence and his eruptive cadences, merits comparison with Donne, Herbert and Shakespeare. Thom Gunn’s visually inviting edition, with its preface a model of light and penetration, is one of my most treasured books. I recommend this new incarnation to anyone who has ever been thrilled by a poem."—Robert Pinsky

(Robert Pinsky 2008-09-30)

"Back in 1968, Thom Gunn’s edition of Fulke Greville revealed an Elizabethan poet whom history had neglected but who spoke with an astonishing modernity. It was not so much that Gunn was influenced by Greville, as that they seemed to write in the same key. There was Greville’s will to defeat his own illusions, his existential loneliness, the charged precision of his abstract nouns, the terse muscularity of his style. For those to whom good poetry is always a living concern, Gunn’s introduction could not be bettered--and the poems are as magnificent as ever. A scholarly new afterword by Bradin Cormack suggests that neither Greville nor Gunn has lost his force."

(Clive Wilmer 2008-09-30)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fulke Greville
Published by University of Chicago press
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Chicago press. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0226308464

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Greville, Fulke
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TX-9780226308463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Greville
Published by Univ Chicago
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ Chicago. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2971533

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Fulke Greville
Published by The University of Chicago Press, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The University of Chicago Press, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Along with his childhood friend Sir Philip Sidney, Fulke Greville (1554-1628) was an important member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Although his poems are today less well known than those of Sidney, Spenser, or Shakespeare, Greville left an indelible mark on the world of Renaissance poetry, both in his love poems, which ably work within the English Petrarchan tradition, and in his religious meditations, which, along with the work of Donne and Herbert, stand as a high point of early Protestant poetics. Back in print for a new generation of scholars and readers, Thom Gunn's selection of Greville's short poems includes the whole of Greville's lyric sequence, "Caelica", along with choruses from some of Greville's verse dramas. Gunn's introduction places Greville's thought in historical context and in relation to the existential anxieties that came to preoccupy writers in the twentieth century. It is as revealing about Gunn himself, and the reading of earlier English verse in the 1960s, as it is about Greville's own poetic achievement.This reissue of "Selected Poems of Fulke Greville" is an event of the first order both for students of early British literature and for readers of Thom Gunn and English poetry generally. Seller Inventory # BTE9780226308463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Fulke Greville, Thom Gunn (Editor), Bradin Cormack (Foreword)
Published by University Of Chicago Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University Of Chicago Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0226308464

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Fulke Greville
Published by University of Chicago Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Chicago Press, 2009. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0226308464

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Fulke Greville
Published by University of Chicago Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Chicago Press, 2009. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TV9780226308463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.45
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Greville, Fulke/ Cormack, Bradin (Foreward By)
Published by Univ of Chicago Pr (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ of Chicago Pr, 2009. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. first edition edition. 184 pages. 7.75x5.00x0.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0226308464

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 47.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Fulke Greville
Published by University Of Chicago Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University Of Chicago Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110226308464

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 77.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Fulke Greville
Published by University Of Chicago Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0226308464 ISBN 13: 9780226308463
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University Of Chicago Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0226308464n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 113.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds