Helen Gordon Landfall

ISBN 13: 9780241954423

Landfall

2.86 avg rating
( 91 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780241954423: Landfall

For fans of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides, Landfall is a clear-eyed, witty and warm debut novel by former Granta editor Helen Gordon, that marks the arrival of a major new literary talent. Alice Robinson, art critic for a magazine so fashionable it's just gone out of business, finds herself agreeing to housesit for her parents. Moving back home to a suburbia she thought long behind her, she finds herself reconnecting with a different landscape, a fraught and painful past. For everywhere Alice turns she finds traces of her sister, who went missing as a teenager. Can she stop her old life intruding on the present? Should she even try? What does Alice's new future look like? 'An intriguing novel . . . a hipster version of Margaret Atwood's Surfacing' Metro 'A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown' Helen Dunmore 'Compulsively readable' Independent on Sunday 'Fine writing . . . wrapped in an arresting evocation of timelessness' Guardian 'Brooding and haunting' Tatler 'Uplifting, witty, wonderfully unsettling' Psychologies 'Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale' Easy Living Helen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Helen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

Review:

Quirky, compelling, unpredictable . . . layers peel away almost imperceptibly and the ending is surreal yet believable * The Times * A charming and compelling novel * Observer * For the most part it's an uplifting, witty tale, but the ending is wonderfully unsettling, forcing us to consider whether the guidelines we follow really will lead to a more satisfying life * Psychologies * Compulsively readable, with a silky smooth pace * Independent * A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown -- Helen Dunmore An intriguing debut . . . Landfall takes a gratifying left field swerve * Metro * Written with pluck and humour * Independent * Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale * Easy Living *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Helen Gordon
ISBN 10: 0241954428 ISBN 13: 9780241954423
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Devils in the Detail Ltd
(Oxford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. NEW, shipped from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # 300/BRL/205P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.27
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gordon, Helen (Author)
Published by Penguin (2012)
ISBN 10: 0241954428 ISBN 13: 9780241954423
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 224 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0241954428

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds