Sarita Mandanna Good Hope Road

ISBN 13: 9780297609285

Good Hope Road

3.77 avg rating
( 22 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780297609285: Good Hope Road

At the outset of the Great War in 1914, New England Yankee James Stonebridge and Louisiana native Obadaiah Nelson volunteer with the French Foreign Legion. They are among a handful of Americans who did so, young men fired up by idealism and lured by the chance of adventure and escape. Despite their very different backgrounds, James and Obadaiah forge a friendship that helps them endure the squalor of the trenches and the brutal realities of war. Fourteen years after the end of the war, Major James Stonebridge has become a haunted recluse, and the burden of his care falls upon his son, Jim. Jim has fallen in love with Madeleine, a spirited bohemian who brings light and laughter to the sombre world of the apple farm. But it is only when the Major decides to join the Bonus marchers in Washington that Jim begins to fathom his father's past. From pre-war Paris to the trenches of Europe and the apple orchards of New England, Good Hope Road is a powerful and deeply affecting story of the legacy of war, the strength of the human spirit and the search for redemption.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sarita Mandanna belongs to the stunning landscapes of Coorg, famous for their coffee plantations and often described as the 'Scotland of India'. She has a PGDM from the Indian Institute of Management, an MBA from the Wharton Business School, and worked as a private equity investor in New York before moving to Toronto in 2010. Her first novel, TIGER HILLS was longlisted for the 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize and has been translated into 14 languages around the world, including French, Italian, Hebrew and Chinese.

Review:

A powerfully emotive family drama featuring well-drawn and sympathetic characters set against a little known but momentous event in US history, which will strike a chord with those who enjoyed Pat Barker's Regeneration and Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road to the Deep North * We Love This Book * A sweeping novel of guilt, loss and misunderstanding * THE LADY * a book of great ambition and power * THE TIMES * the emotional and psychological damage of war, and its effects on the men and their families, are sympathetically and sharply dramatised, while some of the writing is lovely. * DAILY MAIL *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mandanna, Sarita
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Orion Publishing Group | From the author of TV book club pick, TIGER HILLS, an epic tale about the legacy of war, of love and friendship across the social divide and a generation of forgotten men. For fans of Richard Flanagan, Sebastian Faulks or Pat Barker. | At the outset of the Great War in 1914, New England Yankee James Stonebridge and Louisiana native Obadiah Nelson volunteer with the French Foreign Legion. They are among a handful of Americans who did so, young men lured by the chance of adventure and of upholding all-American values. Despite their very different backgrounds, James and Obadiah forge a friendship which helps them endure the squalor of the trenches and the brutal realities of war.Both survive but when they leave the trenches behind they are changed men. Returning to his New Hampshire farm, James becomes a recluse. Only years later, when Obadiah visits the farm, can James's son Jim begin to understand what his father went through in the muddy fields of France.Jim has fallen in love with a Madeleine, a carefree bohemian who brings light and laughter to the sombre world of the farm. But with another war looming, and the weight of his father's story heavy upon him, Jim finds that he has decisions to make, decisions that will alter the course of his life for ever. | Format: Hardback | Language/Sprache: english | 640 gr | 246x160x32 mm | 368 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780297609285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.51
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sarita Mandanna
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. At the outset of the Great War in 1914, New England Yankee James Stonebridge and Louisiana native Obadaiah Nelson volunteer with the French Foreign Legion. They are among a handful of Americans who did so, young men fired up by idealism and lured by the chance of adventure and escape. Despite their very different backgrounds, James and Obadaiah forge a friendship that helps them endure the squalor of the trenches and the brutal realities of war. Fourteen years after the end of the war, Major James Stonebridge has become a haunted recluse, and the burden of his care falls upon his son, Jim. Jim has fallen in love with Madeleine, a spirited bohemian who brings light and laughter to the sombre world of the apple farm. But it is only when the Major decides to join the Bonus marchers in Washington that Jim begins to fathom his father s past. From pre-war Paris to the trenches of Europe and the apple orchards of New England, Good Hope Road is a powerful and deeply affecting story of the legacy of war, the strength of the human spirit and the search for redemption. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780297609285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sarita Mandanna
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. At the outset of the Great War in 1914, New England Yankee James Stonebridge and Louisiana native Obadaiah Nelson volunteer with the French Foreign Legion. They are among a handful of Americans who did so, young men fired up by idealism and lured by the chance of adventure and escape. Despite their very different backgrounds, James and Obadaiah forge a friendship that helps them endure the squalor of the trenches and the brutal realities of war. Fourteen years after the end of the war, Major James Stonebridge has become a haunted recluse, and the burden of his care falls upon his son, Jim. Jim has fallen in love with Madeleine, a spirited bohemian who brings light and laughter to the sombre world of the apple farm. But it is only when the Major decides to join the Bonus marchers in Washington that Jim begins to fathom his father s past. From pre-war Paris to the trenches of Europe and the apple orchards of New England, Good Hope Road is a powerful and deeply affecting story of the legacy of war, the strength of the human spirit and the search for redemption. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780297609285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sarita Mandanna
Published by Orion 2015-07-30, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion 2015-07-30, London, 2015. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780297609285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sarita Mandanna
Published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0297609289

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mandanna, Sarita
Published by W&N (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. 9.29x5.98x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0297609289

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sarita Mandanna
Published by Weidenfeld & Nicolson (2015)
ISBN 10: 0297609289 ISBN 13: 9780297609285
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110297609289

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds