Daily Life in Johnson's London

4.36 avg rating
( 25 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780299094904: Daily Life in Johnson's London
From the Back Cover:

'... This is the perfect introduction to 18th century London and a wonderful companion for readers of Johnson and Boswell...' --'Washington Post Book World'

Review:

"An excellent source for English Literature and history students studying this period or Samuel Johnson."—Booklist

"Outstanding. . . . The author packs a remarkable quantity of detail into a small space, even including a discussion of price and wage figures that will be intelligible to Americans [today]. . . . His prose is lucid, graceful, lively. Generously illustrated, the book also includes an extensive bibliography."—Choice

"Rich in facts and anecdotes, this is the perfect introduction to 18th-century London and a wonderful companion for readers of Johnson and Boswell. . . . Schwartz starts with the sights, sound, and smells of the metropolis—a city of steeples, chimneys, coal smoke, and intolerable street noise—and surveys in succession Work and Money, Pastimes and Pleasures, Daily Routines and Domestic Life, Travel and Transportation, and Health and Hygiene and concludes with a gallery of street 'Londoners,' an independent and assertive lot, notably insolent to foreigners, especially those in French clothes."—Washington Post Book World

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schwartz, Richard B.
Published by University of Wisconsin Press (1983)
ISBN 10: 0299094901 ISBN 13: 9780299094904
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Wisconsin Press, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110299094901

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 72.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schwartz, Richard B.
Published by University of Wisconsin Press
ISBN 10: 0299094901 ISBN 13: 9780299094904
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Wisconsin Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0299094901 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1911455

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 84.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Richard B. Schwartz
Published by University of Wisconsin Press (1983)
ISBN 10: 0299094901 ISBN 13: 9780299094904
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Wisconsin Press, 1983. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0299094901

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 88.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds