Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

4.17 avg rating
( 2,579 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780307362995: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began.
 
In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel to the depressed pockets of the United States to report on recession-era America. What they find in Camden, New Jersey, the devastated coalmines of West Virginia, on the Lakota reservation in South Dakota, and in undocumented farmworker colonies in California is a thriving neofeudalism. With extraordinary on-the-ground reportage and illustration, Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt provides a terrifying glimpse of a future for America and the nations that follow her lead--a future that will be avoided with nothing short of revolution. 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best Books of the Month, June 2012: From the dusty plains of North Dakota to the coal-veined hills of West Virginia to the desolate and ravaged streets of Camden N.J., Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist/journalist Joe Sacco introduce us to the nation's "sacrifice zones"--those regions where, in the authors' view, corporate greed has run wild, and the locals have suffered. A unique mashup of investigative journalism, man-on-the-street reportage, graphic novel, and anti-corporate manifesto, the result is a riveting and often chilling account of America's forgotten zones. The balance between Hedges' narrative nonfiction storytelling and Sacco's intimate and very human sketches is surprisingly effective. And the stark depictions (both written and visual) of abandoned coal mines and empty downtowns and crumbling houses are heartbreaking, as are the stories of people struggling to survive. This is a special and important book. --Neal Thompson

About the Author:

Chris Hedges, a senior fellow at The Nation Institute and a Truthdig columnist, is a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist. His books include such bestsellers as Empire of Illusion, Death of the Liberal Class and the National Book Award finalist War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781568588247: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1568588240 ISBN 13: 9781568588247
Publisher: Bold Type Books, 2014
Softcover

9781568586434: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Nation..., 2012
Hardcover

9780307362988: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Knopf ..., 2012
Softcover

9788189059606: Navayana Days Of Destruction, Days Of Revolt [Paperback] [Dec 31, 1899] Joe Sacco

Navayana, 1899
Softcover

9781568587103: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt: Kindle Fire e

Unknown Binding

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Hedges, Chris; Sacco, Joe
Published by Vintage Canada (2013)
ISBN 10: 030736299X ISBN 13: 9780307362995
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Vintage Canada, 2013. Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 030736299X-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Hedges, Chris and Sacco, Joe
Published by Vintage Canada (2013)
ISBN 10: 030736299X ISBN 13: 9780307362995
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Aragon Books Canada
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)

Book Description Vintage Canada, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # KL-004

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 23.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Hedges, Chris and Sacco, Joe
Published by Vintage Canada (2013)
ISBN 10: 030736299X ISBN 13: 9780307362995
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Aragon Books Canada
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)

Book Description Vintage Canada, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # SVX-152

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 23.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds