A Bone of Contention: The Second Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew

4.01 avg rating
( 968 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312167929: A Bone of Contention: The Second Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew

In 1352, the terrible legacy of the Black Death still looms over the town of Cambridge, where hysteria and superstition are prevalent. Meanwhile, Matthew Bartholomew, teacher and public physician, is thrown into the heat of a baffling mystery as he's called to the King's Ditch to examine the corpse of a young student. His task is complicated by the discovery of a skeletal hand in the ditch wearing a ring identical to that of the student.

The town is plunged into chaos as a respected university professor falls under suspicion and Bartholomew's investigation has the academic community bristling. Piece by piece the good doctor begins to exhume a chilling conspiracy that lay hidden for three decades-a deadly scheme that could tear the town asunder.

In the tradition of Ellis Peters, A Bone of Contention continues the fascinating chronicles of Susanna Gregory's charismatic medieval sleuth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

Skillfully combining murder, medicine, and mystery, these intricate and engaging mysteries follow the investigations of 14th–century Cambridge physician and forensic sleuth Matthew Bartholomew. The pseudonymous author Susanna Gregory, an anthropologist and Cambridge academic, is a former coroner’s officer.

About the Author:

Susanna Gregory is a pseudonym. Before she earned her Ph.D. at the University of Cambridge and became a research Fellow at one of the colleges, she was a police officer in Yorkshire. She has written a number of nonfiction books, including ones on castles, cathedrals, historic houses, and world travel. She and her husband live in a village near Cambridge.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Susanna Gregory
Published by Minotaur Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 031216792X ISBN 13: 9780312167929
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX031216792X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gregory, Susanna
Published by Minotaur Books
ISBN 10: 031216792X ISBN 13: 9780312167929
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 031216792X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # XM-031216792X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gregory, Susanna
Published by Minotaur Books (1997)
ISBN 10: 031216792X ISBN 13: 9780312167929
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11031216792X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gregory, Susanna
Published by Minotaur Books
ISBN 10: 031216792X ISBN 13: 9780312167929
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 031216792X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1812389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds