Ronald Wright A Scientific Romance

ISBN 13: 9780312181727

A Scientific Romance

3.61 avg rating
( 497 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312181727: A Scientific Romance
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

It is 1999, and David Lambert, jilted lover and reluctant museum curator, is about to discover the startling news of the return of H. G. Well's time machine to London. Motivated by a host of unanswered questions and innate curiosity, he propels himself deep into the next millennium: an England ruined by mysterious civil war, now returned to wilderness. As he sets foot in a luxuriant but menacing new landscape, he also explores the ruins of his life, a labyrinth of erotic obsession and remorse involving his old friend Bird - jazz musician, classicist, and small-time crook - and Anita, the beautiful, eccentric Egyptologist they both loved, mysteriously dead at 32. For readers of H. G. Wells, J. G. Ballard, and Aldous Huxley, this novel is an odyssey through human error, an evocation of beloved books and authors, and an unforgettable vision of the end - and renewal - of civilization.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In London at the turn of the 20th century, H. G. Wells's time machine mysteriously appears--empty--in a squatter's flat. Whence did it come, and for what purpose was it sent? The answers to these questions--though not to an even greater mystery connected with the machine's appearance--are contained in a letter written by Wells on May 2, 1946, which falls into the hands of one David Lambert on the eve of the millennium. Lambert, an industrial archeologist, reads the letter foretelling the arrival of the machine and, half convinced the whole thing is a hoax, goes to the address Wells provides, where, at the appointed hour, the time machine materializes. Thus begins Ronald Wright's fine and fantastical novel A Scientific Romance.

Romance can refer to an affair of the heart; it can also describe a heroic tale of extraordinary events. In A Scientific Romance, Wright plays on both possible meanings as he weaves a tragic story of betrayal and lost love into a larger narrative of time travel. Lambert, having lost the woman he loved, is reckless enough to test Wells's machine himself, catapulting 500 years into the future, where he finds London--indeed, all of England--a deserted, semitropical landscape. As David explores the future, he also sifts through his own past, creating in this Möbius strip of time and relationship a chilling cautionary tale about the limits of science and human ambition.

From the Publisher:

A SCIENTIFIC ROMANCE has won Britain's prestigious David Higham Award for Fiction.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312199999: A Scientific Romance: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0312199996 ISBN 13:  9780312199999
Publisher: Picador, 1999
Softcover

9780676971071: A Scientific Romance

Vintag..., 1998
Softcover

9780552770002: A Scientific Romance

Black ..., 2002
Softcover

9780676970562: A Scientific Romance

Knopf, 1997
Hardcover

9781862300118: A Scientific Romance

Anchor, 1997
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wright, Ronald
Published by Picador USA
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312181728 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0312181728ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ronald Wright
Published by Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st Picador USA ed. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312181728

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Ronald Wright
Published by Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA, 1998. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312181728

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Wright, Ronald
Published by Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110312181728

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Wright, Ronald
Published by Picador USA
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312181728 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.1052512

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Ronald Wright
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0312181728

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Ronald Wright
Published by Picador USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312181728 ISBN 13: 9780312181727
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador USA, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st Picador USA ed. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0312181728n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 98.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds