My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith

3.88 avg rating
( 16 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312243142: My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith

Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

In the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Tracing his ancestry back 500 years, PNBA book award-winner Robert Clark (Mr. White's Confessions) maps a legacy of religious belief, disbelief, and faith that mirrors his own spiritual quest. Although he speaks to his recent re-entry into the Catholic Church (the original church of his 500-year-old ancestors), Clark has not written a predictable "I once was lost but now I'm found" autobiography. Rather, he examines a familiar English-American religious legacy. "Like my forebears, I have been variously, and sometimes simultaneously, a Catholic, a Protestant, a Puritan, a Transcendentalist, an agnostic, and an atheist," Clark explains in the introduction to the book. Using his own journey of doubt and faith as the narrative framework, Clark weaves in the religious stories of his ancestors. We meet the Clark family members as inquisitors during the rein of Henry VIII, as Puritan settlers, as accusers in witch trails, and as cohorts of Emerson and Thoreau. Clark has great command over his ancestors' stories, his own story, and his story-telling ability. As a result, he has pulled this ambitious autobiography together in a way that is historically informative, consistently entertaining, and personally meaningful. Deftly and often humorously, he helps us see how our ancestors' religious conversions, confusions, and conquests often reflect our own. --Gail Hudson

About the Author:

Robert Clark is the author of the novels In the Deep Midwinter and Mr. White's Confession, as well as River of the West, a cultural history of the Columbia River, and The Solace of Food, a biography of James Beard. He is also the recipient of the Edgar Award for Best Mystery. A native of St. Paul, Minneapolis, he lives in Seattle with his wife and two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clark, Robert
Published by PICADOR (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PICADOR, 2000. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Clark, Robert
Published by St. Martins Press-3pl 10/1/2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martins Press-3pl 10/1/2000, 2000. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Clark, Robert
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 0312243146

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Robert Clark
Published by St. Martins Press-3pl (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martins Press-3pl, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography In the tradition of Augustine s Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

ROBERT CLARK
Published by St Martins Pr October 2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paper Back Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Eighth Day Books, LLC
(Wichita, KS, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr October 2000, 2000. Paper Back. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 20100727175473

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

ROBERT CLARK
Published by St Martins Pr October 2000 (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paper Back Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Eighth Day Books, LLC
(Wichita, KS, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr October 2000, 2000. Paper Back. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 98313

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Robert Clark
Published by St. Martins Press-3pl (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martins Press-3pl, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography In the tradition of Augustine s Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Clark, Robert
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0312243146 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.6. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Robert Clark
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780312243142_ing

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Robert Clark
Published by St. Martins Press-3pl (2000)
ISBN 10: 0312243146 ISBN 13: 9780312243142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martins Press-3pl, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography In the tradition of Augustine s Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780312243142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book