Graham Parker Carp Fishing on Valium

ISBN 13: 9780312280734

Carp Fishing on Valium

2.84 avg rating
( 51 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312280734: Carp Fishing on Valium
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The literary debut of one of rock's most critically acclaimed singer/songwriters.

For 25 years Graham Parker has rocked our world, releasing more than 20 albums, including the fabled Squeezing Out Sparks, considered to be one of the great rock and roll albums of all time. Now Graham stakes his claim in the literary world with Carp Fishing on Valium.

Carp Fishing on Valium is the story of one Brian Porker, our Everyman if you will, told in a kaleidoscopic series of episodes from Brian's life: from a nature-loving lad who collects bird eggs to a wannabe musician enduring distasteful jobs; from a husband with a different kind of relationship problem to a high-living rock singer auditioning as the replacement for the "newly deceased" Mick Jagger; and from a homeowner negotiating with country workmen to his final guise as an ornithologist-comedian (yes, you read that right).

Witty, absurd, keenly insightful and full of a wistfulness for what once was and what might have been, Carp Fishing on Valium establishes Graham Parker on the literary scene in the same wickedly incisive way he turned rock on its ear.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Graham Parker, whose classic albums include "Howlin' Wind", "Heat Treatment" and "Struck By Lightning", divides his time between the wilds of upstate New York and London.

Review:

“A book you should read... a rollicking chronicle of one man's journey from struggling musician to irascible rock' n' roll star...” ―Esquire

“a splendid literary debut...gruesome and laconic in the tradition of Roald Dahl, Parker's shorts are equal parts wit, invention and sweet cruelty, readers should enjoy frissons of schadenfreude.” ―Publishers Weekly

“The rascally slice-of-life tales are poignant and often laugh-out-loud funny.” ―CMJ Music Review

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 11.95
US$ 30.83

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780985814007: Carp Fishing on Valium: stories by Graham Parker

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0985814004 ISBN 13:  9780985814007
Publisher: Tangible Press, 2012
Softcover

9780743208239: CARP FISHING ON VALIUM

SCRIBNER, 2000
Hardcover

9780743208246: Carp Fishing on Valium

SCRIBNER, 2001
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Graham Parker
Published by St. Martin's Griffin (2001)
ISBN 10: 0312280734 ISBN 13: 9780312280734
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312280734

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Parker, Graham
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN 10: 0312280734 ISBN 13: 9780312280734
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description St. Martin's Griffin. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0312280734 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.2052129

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds