Nicholas Coleridge A Much Married Man

ISBN 13: 9780312363833

A Much Married Man

3.44 avg rating
( 442 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312363833: A Much Married Man
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene, comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs. 
 
A man of wealth and privilege, Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance.  But with all of his money and privilege, Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match.  Running headlong into marriage is Anthony's forte...and his greatest weakness.      As Anthony surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he's under siege. And he's absolutely right. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.
 
 
Meet the wives
 
Amanda: the ravishing first wife.  Unpredictable and mesmerizing, she dared Anthony to fall in love with her, and he took her up on the challenge.  Anthony was head over heels from the first night they danced on the rooftop of his family home.  Of course, the free-spirited Amanda was never cut out for country life, but young love is blind. 

Sandra: the steadfast second wife.  Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra pulled Anthony back from the compelling chaos that surrounded his first wife. Sandra had plans to turn Anthony's estate into a proper family home, until a stunning secret forced her to make a life-altering decision.

Dita: the snobbish third wife. A true force of nature, Dita was smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance.  She enthusiastically stormed through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, and rubbing plenty of people the wrong way, particularly the previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.
 
With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace!  Adding to the crazy mix is the mistress, Nora, a new age hippy and acupuncturist, whom Anthony seduced with disastrous consequences.
 
A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with memorable characters that will stay with readers long after the final page.  Like a modern day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

A brilliantly witty social satire of the English Upper-Crust
 
As Anthony Anscombe surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in Oxfordshire, he has the distinct feeling that he's under siege, for, lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of a complicated past.

His first wife was the hauntingly beautiful girl he married in an impulsive rush of hedonism. Amanda was never going to live up to her role as the wife of a country squire, so why does she still cast such a long shadow in Anthony's life?

Sandra, the second wife, came to Anthony's rescue. Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra had plans to turn the Priory into a proper family home, until that summer when it all went horribly wrong...

And then there's Dita, a force of nature. Smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance, Dita storms through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, particularly when it comes to previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.

With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace...

About the Author:

NICHOLAS COLERIDGE, a former newspaper columnist and editor of Harpers & Queen, is now U.K. Managing Director of Condé Nast magazines.  His bestselling novels have been published in twelve languages.  He lives in London and Worcestershire with his family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312382261: A Much Married Man: A Novel (Thomas Dunne Books)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  031238226X ISBN 13:  9780312382261
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin, 2008
Softcover

9781846328022: A Much Married Man

Thomas..., 2007
Hardcover

9780752852546: Much Married Man

Orion, 2006
Hardcover

9780752852553: A Much Married Man

Orion, 2006
Softcover

9780752865102: A Much Married Man (OME)

Orion, 2006
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Coleridge, Nicholas
Published by Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312363834 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0312363834ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Coleridge, Nicholas
Published by Thomas Dunne Books 2007-06-12 (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Cellar, LLC
(Nashua, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books 2007-06-12, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312363834 BRAND NEW. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. Seller Inventory # Z0312363834ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Coleridge, Nicholas
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sklubooks, LLC
(Clermont, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. 000-259: Hardcover with Dustjacket. 451 pages. No Defects. A New, Unread Book. A beautiful copy with clean, unmarked pages. A Humorous Social Satire and a Sexual, Sensational glimpse inside the Salacious World of the Upper Classes. Gift Quality. 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 First U.S. Edition June 2007. Seller Inventory # 19519

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Nicholas Coleridge
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312363834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Nicholas Coleridge
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2007. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312363834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Coleridge, Nicholas
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110312363834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 45.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Coleridge, Nicholas
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SPHINX BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. NEW. Seller Inventory # FEEL 83

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Nicholas Coleridge
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0312363834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Nicholas Coleridge
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0312363834 ISBN 13: 9780312363833
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0312363834n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 87.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds