Ciao Bella: A Novel

3.34 avg rating
( 120 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312379926: Ciao Bella: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 


For Graziella, the quiet, cultured life she lived in Venice with her musician husband, Ugo,  was everything she could have hoped for. But when Italy allied itself with Nazi Germany in 1940, her world changed forever. Ugo, trading in his violin for a gun, joined the Resistance, while Graziella was forced to seek refuge at his family’s farm in the nearby Euganean Hills. “Just until the war is over,” Ugo had promised, but it has been months now since the Nazis retreated, and no one has seen him since.

With Ugo gone, it seems as if she will be trapped forever on this remote farm with her lost husband’s difficult family. So when an American soldier named Frank is stranded on the mountain, Graziella embraces this unexpected chance at being happy again. But as tempting as it is to leave behind this war-torn country and her painful memories for a new life in America, can she go without learning her husband’s fate?

With quiet grace and humor, Ciao Bella explores the possibilities of love and redemption in the wake of war, showing that some of the hardest decisions come only after the fighting has stopped.


"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Please visit us at sidewalkartist.blogspot.com and at our Facebook page "Gina Buonaguro & Janice Kirk." We also tweet at @JaniceandGina. We love to hear from our readers! 

MORE REVIEWS FOR CIAO BELLA
From the Toronto Town Crier:
"Ciao Bella is a romantic story, even a weepy at times.

But it is a credible literary feat as well, more in the vein of Captain Corelli's Mandolin or The Time-Traveler's Wife, than a drugstore romance. There is never an aversion of eyes from the gritty realities of life during that terrible period. Some of the subplots, especially one involving a girl who had apparently been raped by a German soldier, are rather tragic.

In the vernacular of the day, this is not chick lit.

Or not just chick lit.

Lit for anyone with a heart."

From the blog She Read a Book:
"I didn't think anything could top The Sidewalk Artist, the first book written by Gina and Janice, butCiao Bella is right up there on par with it.... This book left me with such a wonderful feeling. I was sad and yet happy with the outcome of the story. I highly recommend it."
From Historical Novels Review:"A wistful story about the difficult decisions people must make in both love and war, Ciao Bella is drenched in Italian sunshine. The authors have penned a sweet, nostalgic story about how good people struggle to do the right thing, even when there are no good choices at all."

About the Author:

GINA BUONAGURO was born in New Jersey and now resides in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. JANICE KIRK was born and lives in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. Together, they are the authors of The Sidewalk Artist, Ciao Bella, and Falling for Rain.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781602856899: Ciao Bella (Center Point Premier Romance (Large Print))

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1602856893 ISBN 13: 9781602856899
Publisher: Center Point Pub, 2010
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Buonaguro, Gina; Kirk, Janice
ISBN 10: 0312379927 ISBN 13: 9780312379926
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29pg301to675-14533

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Buonaguro, Gina; Kirk, Janice
ISBN 10: 0312379927 ISBN 13: 9780312379926
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: Brand New. New. Seller Inventory # DH29pg1222to1521-7769

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Gina Buonaguro, Janice Kirk
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0312379927 ISBN 13: 9780312379926
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2009. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312379927

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Buonaguro, Gina; Kirk, Janice
ISBN 10: 0312379927 ISBN 13: 9780312379926
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0312379927

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds