The Daughter Trap: Taking Care of Mom and Dad...and You

3.55 avg rating
( 11 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312385101: The Daughter Trap: Taking Care of Mom and Dad...and You
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of The Feminine Mystique and Backlash, a groundbreaking look at a social cyclone heading straight for Boomer women When aging parents need help, they turn to a daughter. This book answers the question "now what?" and helps women successfully juggle caregiving, careers, kids, siblings and marriage on their own terms. It's all about new options, clear priorities and no guilt.
Twenty-five percent of Baby Boomers now have a senior parent living with them, and almost a third of American workers care for their parents. But what no one has pointed out, until now, is that Boomer eldercare responsibilities usually fall on the daughters, who are also often caught between the competing demands of a working spouse, school-aged kids and a full-time career.
The Daughter Trap is the first book on the market to simply say it like it is: women get stuck in the caretaker role--whether they like it or not; and whether they're prepared for it or not. The author shows how this happens over and over again and explores why women let it happen. Drawing on years of original research, as well as interviews with business leaders and the personal stories of individual women, The Daughter Trap not only identifies the problem but also provides concrete and actionable solutions with takeaway lessons readers can apply to their own lives.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LAUREL KENNEDY is a nationally recognized expert on Boomer issues. Founder of the Boomer consulting firm Age Lessons, she has also worked as a senior executive with Edelman Worldwide and Ketchum for clients like Kraft, Kellogg, Pepsi, and Sara Lee. Kennedy has appeared on national television including CNBC and Comcast TV. She’s appeared as an expert witness in the Superior Courts, and as speaker before numerous industry and employer groups. She has won dozens of awards for her work, including the National Telly and Silver Anvil awards. She lives in Chicago.

Review:

Silver Anvil and National Telly Award winner Kennedy presents a razor-sharp tome on the impending national crisis in elder care. If you think her argument that "elder care is perceived to be a daughter’s obligation" is just an assumption, consider the statistic that "women lose an average of 11.5 working years because of caregiving responsibilities; men just 1.3 years." There is no doubt that her cries for a revolution are justified and that the timeframe is urgent (the over-65 population is growing nearly four times faster than the under-65 group). Covering everything from statistics regarding the state of care now to the gender gap in caregiving, this book is intended to scare most of us with aging parents into action. Recommended for absolutely anyone with a mom or a dad. --Library Journal

Laurel Kennedy does for caregiving what Betty Friedan did for marriage and motherhood. The Daughter Trap says something new and important about aging, family and caregiving in America today.
--Jeffrey P. Rosenfeld, Ph.D., Director, Hofstra University Gerontology Program

 “Laurel Kennedy has the guts to tell us the straight story – that women are tasked with the often-overwhelming responsibility of elder care. The Daughter Trap shows why and how this has happened, and the economic and emotional toll this takes on our society.”    -- Joan Toth, Executive Director, Network of Executive Women

“This is a wise and important book. As a daughter who was once caught in the caregiver ‘trap’, I urge daughters and other family members to read Laurel Kennedy’s new book. --Connie Goldman, Author, The Gifts of Caregiving—Stories of Hardship, Hope and Healing

“The health care dialogue in America has shortchanged the single biggest challenge on the horizon—elder care. The Daughter Trap takes on the medical establishment. --Robert N. Butler, M.D., Founding Director of the National Institute on Aging and the Department of Geriatrics at Mt. Sinai School of Medicine

“America is waking up to the fact that being a family gets complicated when old age enters the picture. Laurel Kennedy’s book offers clear-eyed answers to what can seem like unsolvable problems. --Dr. William Thomas, Professor of Aging Studies, the University of Maryland, Baltimore

“Helpful and hopeful.  The Daughter Trap offers new ideas and covers the complexity and compassion of caregiving.”--Donna Butts, Executive Director, Generations United

“Urging caregivers of adults to stop suffering in silence, Laurel Kennedy calls for consciousness-raising, a movement, a spokesperson to carry the flag.  We need men in on the act too. --Dr. Jacquelyn James, Research Director, Sloan Center on Aging and Work, Boston College

“Exceptionally well-researched and extraordinarily well-written, Laurel Kennedy’s The Daughter Trap opens and defines the discussion on one of the most important issues of the decade.” --Marti Barletta, Author, Prime Time Women: How to Win the Hearts, Minds and Business of Boomer Big Spenders

The Daughter Trap will prove invaluable.” --Craig Ragland, Executive Director, Cohousing Association of the United States

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 25.99
US$ 39.99

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kennedy, Laurel
Published by Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312385102 ISBN 13: 9780312385101
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312385102 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.2053736

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Laurel Kennedy
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0312385102 ISBN 13: 9780312385101
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312385102

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 88.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Laurel Kennedy
Published by Thomas Dunne Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0312385102 ISBN 13: 9780312385101
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Thomas Dunne Books, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0312385102n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 163.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds