Stuart MacBride Bloodshot (Logan McRae)

ISBN 13: 9780312387952

Bloodshot (Logan McRae)

4.16 avg rating
( 5,808 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312387952: Bloodshot (Logan McRae)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Detective Sergeant Logan McRae’s only chance of getting out from under Detective Inspectors Steel and Insch is to get noticed. Not that any of his cases are the type that he wants to get noticed for.

For starters, someone dumped a dying man at the hospital, and the team can’t ID him or the person who dumped him. Even worse, McRae is also after a knife-wielding eight-year-old who is stirring up bad press for the department that does little for their case against Robert Macintyre, Aberdeen’s beloved star soccer player. They’re convinced he’s a rapist, but they can’t hold him long enough to prove it. Catching these perps is thankless work, and McRae’s chances of getting rewarded are as bad as Aberdeen’s without their leading goal scorer.

With his third masterful installment in a series that combines suspense with a dark and distinctly Scottish wit, award-winning author Stuart MacBride is setting a blistering standard for the next generation of crime writers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

“What is there in the Scottish air that makes its new writers among the best in the business these days?” --Chicago Tribune on Dying Light Nearly bouncing back from a transfer, Detective Sergeant Logan McRae is still looking at nothing but dead ends. His only chance of escaping his current post is to get noticed. Not that any of the cases he’s working on are the type that you want to get noticed for.
 For starters, someone dumped a dying man outside the hospital. McRae’s boss D.I. Roberta Steel and her team can’t get an ID on the man, the person who dropped him off, or the car. McRae's second case is hardly any better. It involves a knife-wielding eight-year-old who is not only still at large but getting all kinds of sympathy in the newspapers. That kind of press does little for the department’s accusations against Robert Macintyre, Aberdeen’s star soccer player and another media darling. WPC Jackie Watson, McRae’s girlfriend, is convinced Robert is a serial rapist, but they can’t even hold him let alone charge him when the whole city thinks he’s being framed. Catching these perps is thankless work, and even if he does, it seems like McRae’s chances of getting off Steel’s team are as bad as Aberdeen’s without their leading goal scorer.
 With his third masterful installment in a series that combines fast-paced suspense with a dark, distinctly Scottish sense of humor, Stuart MacBride has firmly established himself as a major crime-writing talent.

From the Back Cover:

Praise for Dying Light
 
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
---Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
---Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
---Houston Chronicle
 
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery, Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
---Rocky Mountain News
 
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
---Dallas Morning News
 
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
---Flint Journal

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by Minotaur Books, New York, New York, U.S.A. (2008)
ISBN 10: 0312387954 ISBN 13: 9780312387952
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Sly Fox
(Virden, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2008. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st U.S. Trade Paperback Edition, 1st Pr. Nice, unsold, unread first U.S. trade paperback edition, 1st printing of this Det. Sgt. Logan McRae mystery set in Aberdeen. Ships in a box, fast service from a real bricks and mortar independent bookstore open since 1998. No remainder marks. Seller Inventory # 008080

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by Minotaur Books, New York, New York, U.S.A. (2008)
ISBN 10: 0312387954 ISBN 13: 9780312387952
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Sly Fox
(Virden, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2008. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st U.S. Trade Paperback Edition, 1st Pr. Nice, unsold, unread first U.S. trade paperback edition, 1st printing of this Det. Sgt. Logan McRae mystery set in Aberdeen, Scotland. Ships in a box, fast service from a real bricks and mortar independent bookstore open since 1998. No remainder marks. Seller Inventory # 008419

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by Minotaur Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0312387954 ISBN 13: 9780312387952
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110312387954

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Stuart MacBride
Published by Minotaur Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0312387954 ISBN 13: 9780312387952
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312387954

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 71.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Stuart MacBride
Published by Minotaur Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0312387954 ISBN 13: 9780312387952
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312387954

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 77.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds