Charles De Lint Someplace to Be Flying

ISBN 13: 9780312858490

Someplace to Be Flying

4.31 avg rating
( 5,089 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312858490: Someplace to Be Flying
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When Lily, a photojournalist, investigates rumors she has heard of magical "animal people" living in the ruins Newford's slums, she meets these strange and fantastical creatures, including Coyote the Trickster, Jackdaw the storyteller, and the Crow Girls. 35,000 first printing.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical "animal people," and the experience leaves him--and the reader--questioning accepted reality.

"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast." --Nona Vero

From the Publisher:

"As engaging a stylist as Stephen King, but considerably more inventive and ambitious." --Toronto Globe and Mail

"An enthralling blend of old European and Native American mythology, seamlessly worked into a modern setting and situation. De Lint's best so far." --Kirkus Reviews

"The reader does not have to be strictly a fan of either thrillers or fantasy to thoroughly enjoy this delightful tale." --The Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

De Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Books
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312858493 Ships from Tennessee, usually the same or next day. Seller Inventory # Z0312858493ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Charles De Lint
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

De Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Books
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312858493 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds