Charles De Lint Someplace to Be Flying

ISBN 13: 9780312858490

Someplace to Be Flying

4.31 avg rating
( 5,232 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312858490: Someplace to Be Flying
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When Lily, a photojournalist, investigates rumors she has heard of magical "animal people" living in the ruins Newford's slums, she meets these strange and fantastical creatures, including Coyote the Trickster, Jackdaw the storyteller, and the Crow Girls. 35,000 first printing.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical "animal people," and the experience leaves him--and the reader--questioning accepted reality.

"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast." --Nona Vero

From the Publisher:

"As engaging a stylist as Stephen King, but considerably more inventive and ambitious." --Toronto Globe and Mail

"An enthralling blend of old European and Native American mythology, seamlessly worked into a modern setting and situation. De Lint's best so far." --Kirkus Reviews

"The reader does not have to be strictly a fan of either thrillers or fantasy to thoroughly enjoy this delightful tale." --The Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780765307576: Someplace to Be Flying (Newford)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  076530757X ISBN 13:  9780765307576
Publisher: Orb Books, 2005
Softcover

9780812551587: Someplace to Be Flying (Newford)

Tor Fa..., 1999
Softcover

9780333732809: Someplace to Be Flying

Tor, 1998
Hardcover

9780330368698: Someplace to Be Flying (HB)

Tor Books
Hardcover

9780330368704: Someplace to Be Flying

Pan, 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Charles De Lint
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

De Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

De Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

De Lint, Charles
Published by Tor Books
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0312858493 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Charles De Lint
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 47.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Charles De Lint
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0312858493

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Charles De Lint
Published by Tor Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0312858493 ISBN 13: 9780312858490
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Books, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0312858493n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 107.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds