Turteltaub, H. N. The Gryphon's Skull

ISBN 13: 9780312872229

The Gryphon's Skull

3.82 avg rating
( 110 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312872229: The Gryphon's Skull
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 


In the tradition of Steven Pressfield and Mary Renault, a seafaring novel of the ancient Greeks

The vast tapestry of the Hellenic world unfolds in this stirring tale of two traders from the island of Rhodes, who range across the wind-blown face of the beautiful and treacherous Mediterranean in search of adventure and profits.

In Over the Wine-dark Sea, H. N. Turteltaub transported his readers to the year 310 B.C. and the lives of Menedemos and Sostratos, two sea traders of Rhodes. From the smell of papyrus and ink to the thrumming of sail in the wind and the grunt of the oarsmen, the details of life in a now-vanished world come alive again in his new novel, The Gryphon’s Skull, an epic of grand adventure and finely realized characters. Sostratos, long and rangy, intellectual and curious, chases knowledge as ardently as his cousin chases women; Menedemos, nearly as perfect a physical specimen as Alexander himself, is the headstrong man of the sea, his eyes unable to resist the veiled beauties around him . . . including his young stepmother, Baukis, whose voice and form he struggles to ignore.

Having profitably returned on the Aphrodite to Rhodes, the two cousins find that war threatens their once free-trading world. Alexander the Great’s successors are warring for control of the eastern Mediterranean. The ruthless one-eyed general Antigonos, who draws on the strength of all Anatolia, and his rival Ptolemaios, who controls the endless wealth of Egypt, are each ruthlessly maneuvering for advantage . . . and the neutrality of Rhodes, so essential to commerce, may be coming to an end.

Yet though war and rumors of war surround them, Sostratos and Menedemos need to turn a profit. It seems the height of folly to try one’s luck so strenuously, but Sostratos has come into possession of what he is convinced is the skull of the mythical gryphon, the fabled beast with the head and wings of an eagle and the body of a lion. They sail to Athens, intending to sell it to a school of philosophy. And the Egyptian emeralds they’ve obtained on the cheap promise to make them an even tidier profit.

But between the Aphrodite and Athens lie two war fleets, innumerable pirates, and enough n0 danger and intrigue to satisfy even Homer. Unfortunately, it may be more than Sostratos and Menedemos can hope to survive.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:


H. N. Turteltaub is the pseudonym of a well-known novelist who is also an accomplished historian of the ancient world.

From Publishers Weekly:

Sea-faring merchants Menedemos and Sostratos, the bickering cousins of Over the Wine-Dark Sea, Turteltaub's previous historical novel set in ancient Greece, are back again with an adventure taking them across the Aegean from the free city of Rhodes to glittering Athens. On their way to the city with a cargo of precious goods, they pick up the skull of an unusual bird. The scholarly Sostratos believes it is that of a gryphon, and thus proof of the existence of the mythical beast. The more down-to-earth Menedemos has little interest in the skull's scientific value, but hopes the philosophical schools in Athens will compete to purchase it. On the relatively short journey, they are plagued by pirates and the clashing forces of Egyptian Ptolemaios and Greek Antigonas, as well as the latter's troublesome nephew Polemaios. Despite these obstacles, Menedemos and Sostratos find plenty of time for haggling, with other merchants as well as with each other. Ladies' man Menedemos often courts trouble by ogling other men's wives, although he restrains himself for Baukis, the attractive young second wife of his father. Sostratos, although anxious to see the Athenian philosophers, has time for a delightful dalliance with the beautiful brothel mistress, Metrikhe. The author has spelled names as the Greeks did-Kyklades, Thoukydides, Skythians-and this adds to the fun. In the end, readers will count themselves satisfied with the journey.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780765345035: The Gryphon's Skull (Hellenistic Seafaring Adventure)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  076534503X ISBN 13:  9780765345035
Publisher: Tor Books, 2003
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

H. N. Turteltaub
Published by Forge Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 0312872224 ISBN 13: 9780312872229
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Forge Books, 2002. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312872224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Turteltaub, H. N.
ISBN 10: 0312872224 ISBN 13: 9780312872229
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0312872224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds