The Protectors (Det. Brian McKenna Novels)

3.95 avg rating
( 64 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312983871: The Protectors (Det. Brian McKenna Novels)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When Terrorists With Nothing To Lose...
In a dramatic and violent kidnapping, the Spanish ambassador to the U.N. is taken at gunpoint in front of his luxury New York City apartment by a group of professional terrorists. The ambassador's bodyguards are killed, and his wife is threatened before the terrorists escape into the maze of the Big Apple...

Kidnap the Rich and Powerful...
But for veteran NYPD Detective First Grade Brian McKenna and his partner Cisco Sanchez, this is much more than a high profile kidnapping. This case is personal. The same group of terrorists has also taken their friend, Carmen de la Cruz, the wealthiest and most adored woman in Spain. And when a third kidnapping of another Spanish diplomat follows, the pressure mounts and the stakes are raised in this deadly game of hide and seek...

One Cop Must Play By His Own Rules.
To unravel a web of terrorists and save his friend, McKenna must first solve the crime in New York and find the ambassador. But his methodical police work and keen insights into the criminal mind might not be enough. This time McKenna might have to break the very laws he has sworn to protect...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

High Praise For the Novels of Dan Mahoney

The Protectors:
"Mahoney...has the procedural elements locked down tight, and in McKenna and Cisco he has created a pair of the most likeable dangerous cops in current crime fiction. The locales--New York City and Spain-are nicely rendered, and the conclusion is both surprising and satisfying."-Booklist (starred review)

"Mahoney is a retired cop who writes his mysteries with colorful style and dramatic flair." - Publishers Weekly

The Two Chinatowns:
"The Two Chinatowns has clearly been written by an author with real procedural experience...The main virtue of Mr. Mahoney's fine detective story is the strength of the illusion it sustains that things could have happened almost the way they happen in this book."-Richard Bernstein, The New York Times Book Daily

"Mahoney...knows the nuts and bolts of a sweeping multijurisdictional police operation. He is also able to portray complex, believable characters struggling mightily with their own muddled lives. Fans of William Caunitz, Robert Daley, and Ed McBain will savor this top-drawer procedural."-Wes Lukowsky, Booklist

"A complex plot is no deterrent to enjoyment of Mahoney's ambitious thriller...Mahoney's characters are always solid, and this tale is almost a primer on Chinese community dynamics. He pulls no punches and speeds to a perfect ending."-Publishers Weekly

Black and White:
"Mahoney gives compulsive procedural buffs exactly what they crave."- The New York Times Book Review

"Black and White is as gripping a novel about a police investigation as you can get...a top-notch thriller."-Chicago Tribune

"Few authors map the political minefields faced by cops on a high-profile case with more realism than Mahoney...a brilliantly twisted plot."- Publishers Weekly

"Exact and fascinating."-Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling, graphic."-Booklist

"Mahoney does a great job of showing us an insider's view of a cop's world."-Denver Rocky Mountian News

"Mahoney...draws on his 25 years as a cop to provide blow-by-blow description of how homicide detectives do their job."-The Free-Lance Star

"Suspenseful...graphic details...the finale is a shocker."-The Sunday Oklahoman

Once In, Never Out:
"Mahoney doesn't sell his readers short. He keeps the action moving."-Chicago Tribune

"Mahoney...knows the drill on conducting a manhunt...and he takes us through the crime-scene photos, the morgue visits, the criminal profiling, the computer searches, and all the rest of it with scientific precision and absolute authenticity."-Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

"Gripping...With absorbing exotic background and richly developed characters, Mahoney...delivers an unusual procedural that rises far above the genre norm."-Publishers Weekly

"Succeeds wonderfully...A superb effort from an emerging master of the genre."-Kirkus Reviews

"A nonstop roller-coaster ride of a thriller...Fast-paced and lean."-The Irish Echo

About the Author:

Dan Mahoney was born and raised in New York City. After serving with the Marine Corps in Vietnam, he joined the New York City Police Department, where he worked for twenty-five years before retiring as a captain. He is the author of six previous novels and lives in Manhattan.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312284503: The Protectors (Det. Brian McKenna Novels)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0312284500 ISBN 13:  9780312284503
Publisher: St. Martin's Press, 2002
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mahoney, Dan
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks (2003)
ISBN 10: 0312983875 ISBN 13: 9780312983871
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2003. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110312983875

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dan Mahoney
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks (2003)
ISBN 10: 0312983875 ISBN 13: 9780312983871
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2003. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312983875

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mahoney, Dan
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0312983875 ISBN 13: 9780312983871
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0312983875 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0094644

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dan Mahoney
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks (2003)
ISBN 10: 0312983875 ISBN 13: 9780312983871
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2003. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312983875

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 75.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds