Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor Demarkian Novel (Gregor Demarkian Novels)

3.78 avg rating
( 253 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312990008: Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor Demarkian Novel (Gregor Demarkian Novels)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Cavanaugh Street is a mostly quiet Armenian neighborhood in downtown Philadelphia where nearly everyone knows everyone else and certainly knows their business. But that quiet is destroyed when the Armenian Orthodox church is destroyed by a bomb and its cleric, Father Tibor Kasparian, is hospitalized as a result. What would normally be a front-page event, however, is overshadowed by another event across town-when Philadelphia Main Line society is shocked by the murder of one of their own. Anthony van Wyck Ross-the head of one of the major investment banks and a cornerstone of Main Line society-is murdered at the Around the World Harvest Ball being hosted at his mansion.

Now former head of the FBI's Behavioral Sciences Unit Gregor Demarkian must see through the conspiratorial haze-a task that takes on personal resonance since Gregor's girlfriend, Bennis Hannaford, serves as Vice Chairman of the Ball. Soon, Gregor finds himself caught up in a spiral of fear and murder that takes him to the very edge of evil.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of P. D. James, Jane Haddam's novels combine compelling story lines with a keen-eyed, complex sense of the character's psychology and sharp, evocative sense of place...

Cavanaugh Street is a mostly quiet Armenian neighborhood in downtown Philadelphia where nearly everyone knows everyone else and certainly knows their business. But that quiet is destroyed when the Armenian Orthodox church is destroyed by a bomb and its cleric, Father Tibor Kasparian, is hospitalized as a result. What would normally be a front-page event, however, is overshadowed by another event across town-when Philadelphia Main Line society is shocked by the murder of one of their own. Anthony van Wyck Ross-the head of one of the major investment banks and a cornerstone of Main Line society-is murdered at the Around the World Harvest Ball being hosted at his mansion.

Now former head of the FBI's Behavioral Sciences Unit Gregor Demarkian must see through the conspiratorial haze-a task that takes on personal resonance since Gregor's girlfriend, Bennis Hannaford, serves as Vice Chairman of the Ball. Soon, Gregor finds himself caught up in a spiral of fear and murder that takes him to the very edge of evil.

"Haddam is a fine and compassionate writer, and Demarkian is one of the most interesting series leads. A guaranteed winner." -Booklist on True Believers

"Haddam keeps her long-running series fresh by developing suspects and victims who are as fascinating and entertaining as her recurring cast...this is one of Haddam's best Demarkian outings yet...riveting!" -January Magazine on Somebody Else's Music

About the Author:

Jane Haddam is the author of many previous novels, most featuring Gregor Demarkian, as well as numerous articles and stories published widely. Her novels have been finalists for both the Edgar and Anthony Awards. She lives with her family in Litchfield Country, Connecticut.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312271886: Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor Demarkian Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0312271883 ISBN 13:  9780312271886
Publisher: Minotaur Books, 2003
Hardcover

9781250100269: Conspiracy Theory

Minotaur, 2004
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jane Haddam
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0312990006 ISBN 13: 9780312990008
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2004. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312990006

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Jane Haddam
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0312990006 ISBN 13: 9780312990008
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2004. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312990006

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 56.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Haddam, Jane
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0312990006 ISBN 13: 9780312990008
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St. Martin's Paperbacks. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0312990006 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0094727

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds