Arthur's Nose: An Arthur Adventure (Arthur Adventure Series)

3.73 avg rating
( 689 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316111935: Arthur's Nose: An Arthur Adventure (Arthur Adventure Series)

Unhappy with his nose, Arthur visits the rhinologist to get a new one.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

After 25 years of Arthur adventures, enthusiastic readers still agree with the conclusion of the very first book about this Everychild aardvark: "There's a lot more to Arthur than his nose." This 25th anniversary edition includes, in addition to the original story, Arthur's Nose, a scrapbook of fun facts, photos, and letters all about the evolution of Arthur over the years. Readers can compare photos of author Marc Brown's family with pictures of Arthur and his family. (Note the spooky similarity between Brown's sister, Bonnie, and Arthur's sister, D.W.--Brown doesn't deny it!). In a letter to his fans, Brown describes how Arthur came to be, and how he has developed over the years. A special illustrated section demonstrates just how much this friendly fellow's nose has changed, from a long, droopy, aardvarky nose in 1976, gradually shortening over the years to his nearly nonexistent schnoz today. Arthur has also acquired glasses and a much sunnier disposition over the last quarter century.

In Arthur's Nose, first grader Arthur decides that he doesn't like his nose. He goes to the rhinologist to change it, but ultimately decides, to the relief of his friends and family, "I'm just not me without my nose!" Luckily for readers today, Arthur is still Arthur, even without the original elongated proboscis. Fans of Arthur's First Kiss, Arthur Accused!, Arthur and the Crunch Cereal Contest, and the many other Arthur titles, will be thrilled to get a peek behind the scenes in this very special edition. (Ages 4 to 8) --Emilie Coulter

About the Author:

Marc Brown, who was born in Erie, Pennsylvania in 1946, received great encouragement and support from his grandmother and uncle. Inspired by the books of Maurice Sendak, Brown decided to pursue his ambition of becoming an illustrator. After receiving a B.F.A. in painting from the Cleveland Institute of Art, he worked as a TV art director, a professor of mechanical drawing, and a freelance illustrator, before becoming a writer. In his books, he addresses the fears and problems which children face and events like friendship, family, school and pets. For his illustrations, Brown uses pencil with watercolor on a variety of papers to achieve different visual effects. The "Arthur" series, about the everyday adventures of a lovable aardvark, began in 1976 and continues to this day with 25 titles published. Brown has also created other series such as the "Rhymes" series, and the nonfiction "Dinosaur" series, which conveys messages of do's and don'ts. These series, like the stories of Arthur, hold the attention of young children while transporting their imaginations on magical journeys.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marc Brown
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (1976)
ISBN 10: 0316111937 ISBN 13: 9780316111935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 1976. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0316111937

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brown, Marc
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young (1976)
ISBN 10: 0316111937 ISBN 13: 9780316111935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young, 1976. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110316111937

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Marc
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0316111937 ISBN 13: 9780316111935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0316111937 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1918321

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds