The Mysterious Benedict Society

4.14 avg rating
( 95,316 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316265010: The Mysterious Benedict Society

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!
"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children--two boys and two girls--succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:



Author Interview: Trenton Lee Stewart Interviews Mr. Benedict

Trenton Lee Stewart, author of The Mysterious Benedict Society series, recently sat down with Mr. Nicholas Benedict, the esteemed scientist and intelligence expert, to discuss his new books.

Trenton Lee Stewart: Welcome, Mr. Benedict!

Mr. Benedict: Thank you indeed. Now, why don't we begin with your interest in riddles?

Stewart: My interest? Um, well ... I suppose I've always been drawn to constructive trickery. Riddles, jokes, stories--all these things depend on deception and surprise, yet they also depend on a shared understanding with the audience. Riddles are meant to be solved, just as stories and jokes are meant to be heard. So the successful ones are a sort of collaboration between--sorry, am I going on too long?

Mr. Benedict: [closing his pocket watch] Not at all. Please continue.

Stewart: Let me back up. As a child, I adored a chapter in The Hobbit called "Riddles in the Dark," in which the hero's life depends upon winning a riddle contest... but I feel silly telling you this, Mr. Benedict. You had to solve a real mystery as a boy--when you were a young orphan with narcolepsy, no less--and the stakes were significant. [Smiling at the reader] I give a full account of it in my next book, The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict.

Mr. Benedict: [nodding] A perfectly competent account.

Stewart: Perfectly... competent? Not... not brilliant?

Mr. Benedict: [yawning] Oh, I'm sure it is. And now, a thousand pardons, but I'm afraid I must go.

Stewart: Already? Go where?

Mr. Benedict: [eyelids drooping] To sleep.

Stewart: [catching Mr. Benedict as he slumps forward] Oh, right--the narcolepsy. I guess this, um, concludes our interview, then? Mr. Benedict? Shall I take that snore as a yes?



A Look Inside The Mysterious Benedict Society: Mr. Benedict's Book of Perplexing Puzzles, Elusive Enigmas, and Curious Conundrums
(Click on Images to Enlarge)


A special message from Mr. Benedict

An elusive enigma worthy of a Society Member



Rules of the Society and a Member Bio

Two perplexing puzzles compiled by Mr. Benedict

About the Author:

Trenton Lee Stewart is the author of the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Mysterious Benedict Society series. He lives in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Carson Ellis received her BFA from the University of Montana and has established a loyal following for her artistic collaborations with the band the Decemberists. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Book Group. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0316265012

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little Brown and Co (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Brown and Co, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VH-9780316265010

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0316265012 New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0316265012ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little Brown and Co (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Brown and Co, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780316265010

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 5/12/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 5/12/2015, 2015. Hardback or Cased Book. Book Condition: New. The Mysterious Benedict Society. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780316265010

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0316265012

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0316265012. Bookseller Inventory # Z0316265012ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0316265012. Bookseller Inventory # Z0316265012ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stewart, Trenton Lee
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0316265012. Bookseller Inventory # Z0316265012ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Trenton Lee Stewart
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316265012 ISBN 13: 9780316265010
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Special ed.. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello s Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed! Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities? Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children--two boys and two girls--succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they ll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you re gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780316265010

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book