Adrian Selby Snakewood

ISBN 13: 9780316302302

Snakewood

3.27 avg rating
( 431 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316302302: Snakewood
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An epic fantasy like no other, Adrian Selby's debut takes an unblinking look at the price we pay for our pasts, the art of war and the people who make it their business. Enter a violent world of revenge and bloody combat with characters you'll never forget.
They called them Kailen's Twenty, a legendary band of ruthless mercenaries who gave no quarter. Living only by the code of steel, blood and coin, and aided by fightbrews that gave them the edge in battle, whoever met their price won.
Now, broken up and seemingly forgotten, they are being hunted down, one by one.
Drawn from multiple accounts compiled by a scholar investigating the legendary group's demise, who is also the son of one of the Twenty, SNAKEWOOD is fantasy at its most inventive and rewarding.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born and raised in Barry, South Wales, Adrian studied creative writing and philosophy at university before embarking on a career in videogames. He has worked for several big-name studios as a producer. He lives with his family on the south coast of England.

Review:

"Set in a brutal world of subtle magic, clashing empires, and commercial interests, this is an impressive fantasy debut. Selby demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author."―Booklist

Betrayal and retribution epitomize Selby's epic fantasy/thriller debut, set in an Earth-like, barbaric, drugged-up society reliant on plant-based narcotic concoctions for addictive potions and deadly poisons. His detail-heavy, conversational dialogue in memoir/journal design and his militant, Berserker-ish characters keep pages turning. Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie.―RT Book Reviews

"Not your typical grimdark fantasy....While it's a complex tale, this is also an immensely readable one, and should appeal to fans of the immersive world-building of Brandon Sanderson. Selby constructs his world on a personal, visceral level, making sure we feel everything that happens to the narrators."―BarnesandNoble.com

"I give it nothing but the highest recommendation."―Grimdark Magazine

"Original and effective ... relish the well-choreographed action scenes."―Library Journal

"Contemporary and grimdark as it comes."―British Fantasy Society

"Absolutely fascinating and incredibly original."―Sense of Wonder

"Wears its grimdark on its sleeve ... a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss."―Interzone

"Grim mercenaries and badass alchemists brought to life by a bold, assured storyteller."―Peter Newman, author of The Vagrant

"A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories."―Fantasy Faction

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780356505527: Snakewood

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0356505529 ISBN 13:  9780356505527
Publisher: Orbit / Little, Brown Book ..., 2016
Hardcover

9780356505534: Snakewood

Orbit, 2016
Softcover

9780316302319: Snakewood

Orbit, 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Adrian Selby
Published by Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10: 0316302309 ISBN 13: 9780316302302
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0316302309

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Selby, Adrian
Published by Orbit
ISBN 10: 0316302309 ISBN 13: 9780316302302
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0316302309 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0316302309

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Selby, Adrian
Published by Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10: 0316302309 ISBN 13: 9780316302302
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110316302309

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Adrian Selby
Published by Orbit (2016)
ISBN 10: 0316302309 ISBN 13: 9780316302302
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit, 2016. Hardcover. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0316302309n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 104.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds