Exiting Nirvana: A Daughter's Life with Autism

3.96 avg rating
( 191 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316691246: Exiting Nirvana: A Daughter's Life with Autism
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Exiting Nirvana" is a strong and affecting profile of an artist with autism, beautifully written by her mother. . . . Skillfully weaving in theories of autism with the experience of raising an autistic child, Park goes beyond individual history to address the wider question of what it means to be human".--from the National Magazine Awards presentation.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Clara Claiborne Park is the author of several books, including The Siege: A Family's Journey into the World of an Autistic Child. She recently retired from the English Department at Williams College, and she lectures.

From Publishers Weekly:

HThirty-four years after The Siege, Park's account of her autistic daughter's first eight years, she delineates Jessy's journey from being a barely verbal child to an adult fascinated with language and the mind. According to Park, Jessy exhibits many of the idiosyncratic mathematical obsessions associated with autism, but has fewer verbal skills than other autistic people. A superb artist, she stuns viewers with her dynamic paintings, which sell well. Her stable and happy life consists of painting; working in the mailroom at Williams College, where until recently her mother taught English; cooking; and doing most of the housework in the home she shares with her aging parents. Though a blessing, these achievements are fragile; Jessy can never live alone, she speaks English as if it were a second language and, equipped with even less understanding of emotions than most of us, cannot truly grasp nuanced human interaction. Park has been both mother and anthropologist, recording verbal and social breakthroughs and setbacks, administering praise and succor. She describes the serene insularity of the autist's "Nirvana," and observes collisions between the autistic and external worlds. She's urged Jessy to enter, "yet never entirely," the extraordinary dailiness inhabited by nonautistic people. In incisive, often exquisite prose, Park affords entry into Jessy's and her own remarkable journey between the two. Illus. (Mar. 8) Forecast: Oliver Sacks, who featured Jessy in his PBS series The Mind Traveller, has contributed an enthusiastic introduction to this deserving book, which will appeal to readers of Karyn Seroussi and Bernard Rimland's Unraveling the Mystery of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorder (2000) and Temple Grandin and Oliver Sacks's Thinking in Pictures (1996); expect healthy sales.
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Park, Clara Claiborne
Published by Back Bay Books 3/28/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books 3/28/2002, 2002. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Exiting Nirvana: A Daughter's Life with Autism. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Park, Clara Claiborne
Published by Back Bay Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0316691240

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Park, Clara Claiborne
Published by Little, Brown and Company (2002)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown and Company, 2002. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Clara Claiborne Park
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Exiting Nirvana is a strong and affecting profile of an artist with autism, beautifully written by her mother.Skillfully weaving in theories of autism with the experience of raising an autistic child, Park goes beyond individual history to address the wider question of what it means to be human .--from the National Magazine Awards presentation. Seller Inventory # APC9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Clara Claiborne Park
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Exiting Nirvana is a strong and affecting profile of an artist with autism, beautifully written by her mother.Skillfully weaving in theories of autism with the experience of raising an autistic child, Park goes beyond individual history to address the wider question of what it means to be human .--from the National Magazine Awards presentation. Seller Inventory # APC9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Clara Claiborne Park
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780316691246_ing

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Clara Claiborne Park
Published by Back Bay Books
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books. Paperback. Condition: New. 240 pages. Dimensions: 8.1in. x 5.5in. x 0.7in.Exiting Nirvana is a strong and affecting profile of an artist with autism, beautifully written by her mother. . . . Skillfully weaving in theories of autism with the experience of raising an autistic child, Park goes beyond individual history to address the wider question of what it means to be human. --from the National Magazine Awards presentation. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Clara Claiborne Park
Published by Little, Brown & Company
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown & Company. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Park, Clara Claiborne
Published by Back Bay Books
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Back Bay Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0316691240 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Park, Clara Claiborne
Published by Little, Brown and Company (2002)
ISBN 10: 0316691240 ISBN 13: 9780316691246
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown and Company, 2002. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780316691246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book