Andrew Crumey Mobius Dick

ISBN 13: 9780330419918

Mobius Dick

3.49 avg rating
( 473 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780330419918: Mobius Dick
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A distinctive, witty and hugely inventive novel of ideas by Andrew Crumey. His previous novels have been widely praised and have won several prizes. In MOBIUS DICK, physicist John Ringer, receives a mysterious text message that triggers an investigation into the development of new mobile phone technology in a research facility outside a remote Scottish village. Already the world is becoming a very different place: amnesia, telepathy, false memory and inexplicable coincidences all seem to be occurring more frequently with humorous, brain teasing results. Could quantum experiments have caused the collapse of our universe's space-time continuum? Could the multi layered text we are reading come from another world altogether? Praise for MR. MEE "brilliantly funny celebration of misunderstanding" Michael Holroyd, Sunday Times "Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes" Hilary Mantel "In short - it's fabulous." Jonathan Coe "Andrew Crumey is one of the most original novelists around." Miranda Seymour, New Statesman "Books Of The Year" "a perfectly manipulated voice. . . deadpan humour . . . all the tangled threads resolve into a beautifully executed pattern which is oddly moving." Roy Foster, Financial Times "Books Of The Year"

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Andrew Crumey has a PhD in theoretical physics and is liteary editor of Scotland On Sunday. His novels have been translated widely, and won several prizes.

Review:

"'Crumey is one of my three or four favourite modern writers - a wise, funny, alert and original novelist who has never disappointed' - Jonathan Coe 'I loved it! Just exhilerating!' - Fay Weldon But while Mobius Dick is a work of sophisticated erudition, its playfulness and artistry make it a page-turner, too. It is perhaps the only novel about quantum mechanics you could imagine reading while lying on a beach. - Joseph O'Connor 'solid plutonium, and unflaggingly enjoyable' - Sunday Times 'the most rewarding book I have read all year' - Independent On Sunday It would be nice to think that this magnificent piece of work stood a chance of winning the Booker. It's certainly my novel of the year. - Time Out 'There's no room here to do justice to the density of ideas Crumey unpacks with admirable lightness. - Sunday Herald"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781909232938: Mobius Dick (Dedalus Original Fiction in Paperback)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1909232939 ISBN 13:  9781909232938
Publisher: Dedalus Limited, 2015
Softcover

9780330419925: Mobius Dick

Picador, 2005
Softcover

9781447241034: Mobius Dick

Picador
Softcover

9789993186717: MOBIUS DICK

Softcover

9789753428187: Mobius Dick

Metis ..., 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Crumey, Andrew
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 0330419919 ISBN 13: 9780330419918
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0330419919 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0102351

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 62.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Andrew Crumey
Published by Picador (2004)
ISBN 10: 0330419919 ISBN 13: 9780330419918
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2004. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0330419919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Andrew Crumey
ISBN 10: 0330419919 ISBN 13: 9780330419918
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STR-0330419919

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 101.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds