The Cat on the Mat Is Flat

3.83 avg rating
( 715 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780330456364: The Cat on the Mat Is Flat

Another collection of irresistible mirth and madness from those maestros of mayhem: Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton. Sure to become an audio classic. Read by award-winning narrator Stig Wemyss. Watch out! Here they come: Frogs, logs, bogs, dogs, cogs and flag-waving hogs. Sheds, sleds, head-biting dogs called Fred and over-fed whales called Ned. Rat-chasing cats, cat-chasing rats and extra large super-sized baseball bats.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Andy has won numerous children’s choice awards in Australia and his books have appeared on bestseller lists both in Australia and the US. The JUST series has been adapted as a 26 episode television cartoon series called "What’s With Andy?" which screens around the world. Film rights to The Day My Bum went Psycho were recently purchased by Scholastic Entertainment. Andy lives in Melbourne, Australia.

No Bio

Stig Wemyss is an actor, writer and the voice behind millions of children’s audio books. Well, not millions. Thousands … Alright, more like hundreds … He has a huge fan club. Bolinda Audio is constantly receiving letters from kids saying things like ‘Stig Rocks’ and ‘I love Stig’ and ‘Stig Wemyss is the best narrator in the world’. Of course we don’t show Stig all these letters, as he already thinks he’s the best narrator in the universe! Now that he is also the author of an exciting in-car audio entertainment series, The Tripp Diaries, he thinks he’s the best narrator and the best author in the universe. We think he is too, but let’s just keep that to ourselves!

Review:

Praise for The Cat on the Mat is Flat:

?Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages.? ?School Library Journal

?Griffiths?s innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton?s edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor.? ?Publishers Weekly

?Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals.? ?The Excelsior File (blog)

?Definitely not your parents? easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith?s Happy Hockey Family.? ?Kirkus Reviews

?This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation?s outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun.? ?Armchair Interviews

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Andy Griffiths,Andy Griffiths Terry Denton
Published by Macmillan Children's Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0330456369 ISBN 13: 9780330456364
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Macmillan Children's Books, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 330456369

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 108.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds