Items related to Tender Bar

R Moehringer, J Tender Bar

ISBN 13: 9780340828830

Tender Bar

3.95 avg rating
( 39,689 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780340828830: Tender Bar
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Paperback. Has use due to reading.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Long before it legally served me, the bar saved me," asserts J.R. Moehringer, and his compelling memoir The Tender Bar is the story of how and why. A Pulitzer-Prize winning writer for the Los Angeles Times, Moehringer grew up fatherless in pub-heavy Manhasset, New York, in a ramshackle house crammed with cousins and ruled by an eccentric, unkind grandfather. Desperate for a paternal figure, he turns first to his father, a DJ whom he can only access via the radio (Moehringer calls him The Voice and pictures him as "talking smoke"). When The Voice suddenly disappears from the airwaves, Moehringer turns to his hairless Uncle Charlie, and subsequently, Uncle Charlie's place of employment--a bar called Dickens that soon takes center stage. While Moehringer may occasionally resort to an overwrought metaphor (the footsteps of his family sound like "storm troopers on stilts"), his writing moves at a quick clip and his tale of a dysfunctional but tightly knit community is warmly told. "While I fear that we're drawn to what abandons us, and to what seems most likely to abandon us, in the end I believe we're defined by what embraces us," Moehringer says, and his story makes us believe it. --Brangien Davis

About the Author:

J.R. Moehringer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2000, is a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times Sunday Magazine, and a former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. He lives in Denver.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Repr. Language: English. Brand new Book. **Now a major film directed by George Clooney and starring Ben Affleck**'Highly entertaining . . . constructed as skilfully as a drink mixed by the author's Uncle Charlie' New York TimesIn the rich tradition of bestselling memoirs about self-invention, The Tender Bar is by turns riveting, moving, and achingly funny. An evocative portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, it's also a touching depiction of how some men remain lost boys.JR Moehringer grew up listening for a voice, the voice of his missing father, a DJ who disappeared before JR spoke his first words. As a boy, JR would press his ear to a battered clock radio, straining to hear in that resonant voice the secrets of identity and masculinity. When the voice disappeared, JR found new voices in the bar on the corner. A grand old New York saloon, the bar was a sanctuary for all sorts of men -- cops and poets, actors and lawyers, gamblers and stumblebums. The flamboyant characters along the bar taught JR, tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood by committee. Torn between his love for his mother and the lure of the bar, JR forged a boyhood somewhere in the middle. When the time came to leave home, the bar became a way station -- from JR's entrance to Yale, where he floundered as a scholarship student; to Lord & Taylor, where he spent a humbling stint peddling housewares; to the New York Times, where he became a faulty cog in a vast machine. The bar offered shelter from failure, from rejection, and eventually from reality, until at last the bar turned JR away. Seller Inventory # HUK9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Repr. Language: English. Brand new Book. **Now a major film directed by George Clooney and starring Ben Affleck**'Highly entertaining . . . constructed as skilfully as a drink mixed by the author's Uncle Charlie' New York TimesIn the rich tradition of bestselling memoirs about self-invention, The Tender Bar is by turns riveting, moving, and achingly funny. An evocative portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, it's also a touching depiction of how some men remain lost boys.JR Moehringer grew up listening for a voice, the voice of his missing father, a DJ who disappeared before JR spoke his first words. As a boy, JR would press his ear to a battered clock radio, straining to hear in that resonant voice the secrets of identity and masculinity. When the voice disappeared, JR found new voices in the bar on the corner. A grand old New York saloon, the bar was a sanctuary for all sorts of men -- cops and poets, actors and lawyers, gamblers and stumblebums. The flamboyant characters along the bar taught JR, tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood by committee. Torn between his love for his mother and the lure of the bar, JR forged a boyhood somewhere in the middle. When the time came to leave home, the bar became a way station -- from JR's entrance to Yale, where he floundered as a scholarship student; to Lord & Taylor, where he spent a humbling stint peddling housewares; to the New York Times, where he became a faulty cog in a vast machine. The bar offered shelter from failure, from rejection, and eventually from reality, until at last the bar turned JR away. Seller Inventory # HUK9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton 2006-09-07, London (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

J.R. Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton, London (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. JR Moehringer grew up listening for a voice, the voice of his missing father, a disc jockey who disappeared before JR spoke his first words. As a boy, JR would press his ear to a battered clock radio, straining to hear in that resonant voice the secrets of identity and masculinity. When the voice disappeared, JR found new voices in the bar on the corner. A grand old New York saloon, the bar was a sanctuary for all sorts of men -- cops and poets, actors and lawyers, gamblers and stumblebums. The flamboyant characters along the bar taught JR, tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood by committee. Torn between his love for his mother and the lure of the bar, JR forged a boyhood somewhere in the middle. When the time came to leave home, the bar became a way station -- from JR's entrance to Yale, where he floundered as a scholarship student; to Lord & Taylor, where he spent a humbling stint peddling housewares; to the New York Times, where he became a faulty cog in a vast machine. The bar offered shelter from failure, from rejection, and eventually from reality, until at last the bar turned JR away. In the rich tradition of bestselling memoirs about self-invention, THE TENDER BAR is by turns riveting, moving, and achingly funny. An evocative portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, it's also a touching depiction of how some men remain lost boys. In the tradition of THIS BOY'S LIFE and THE LIAR'S CLUB, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Sceptre 2006-09-07 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Brook Bookstore
(Milano, MI, Italy)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # acd945d14866b283823cb4d4aed35a70

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.54
From Italy to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Sceptre 2006-09-07 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-HCE-9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

R Moehringer, J
Published by Sceptre (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780340828830_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J. R. Moehringer
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 4
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. In the tradition of THIS BOY'S LIFE and THE LIAR'S CLUB, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. Seller Inventory # B9780340828830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

J R Moehringer
Published by Sceptre (2006)
ISBN 10: 0340828838 ISBN 13: 9780340828830
New Paperback Quantity: 3
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780340828830-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book