Jojo Moyes Sheltering Rain

ISBN 13: 9780340960356

Sheltering Rain

3.47 avg rating
( 7,018 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780340960356: Sheltering Rain

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes the touching, unforgettable story of three generations of Irish women faced with the fundamental truths of love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites mothers and daughters.

Estranged from her mother since she ran away from her rural Irish home as a young woman, Kate swore a future oath that she’d always be a friend to her daughter, Sabine. But history has a way of repeating itself, and Kate now faces an ever-widening chasm between herself and her daughter. With Sabine about to make her own journey to Ireland to see the grandmother Kate abandoned, Kate is left wondering how they ever made it here, and what she can do to close the gap between them. 

For Joy, seeing her granddaughter is a dream come true. After the painful separation from Kate, she’s looking forward to having time with Sabine. Yet almost as soon as the young woman arrives, the lack of common ground between them deflates her enthusiasm. And when Sabine’s impetuous, inquisitive nature forces Joy to face long-buried secrets from her past, she realizes that perhaps it’s time to finally heal old wounds.

“This perceptive...novel does the mother-and-daughter thing in page-turning style.”--Elle

 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher comes an evocative novel by a talented new writer.

At a celebration in honor of Queen Elizabeth II's coronation in 1953, the rebellious young Joy falls in love at first sight and marries the man of her dreams. Now, forty years later, Joy's fifteen-year-old granddaughter, Sabine, seeks shelter at her grandparents' house in Ireland, the very place from which her mother, Kate, ran years before. Suddenly, with an impetuous and inquisitive young woman in the house, Joy finds herself facing the secrets buried in her past.

Troubled by her worsening relationship with Sabine, Kate returns to Ireland. When the three women come together, they discover some fundamental truths about love, duty, and the relationships between mothers and daughters.

Jojo Moyes effortlessly weaves a rich and vivid tapestry of character, time, and place. The result is a heartwarming and believably real novel that sets the benchmark for a new generation of storytelling.

About the Author:

Jojo Moyes is a British novelist and journalist. She is one of only a few authors to have twice won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by the Romantic Novelists' Association and has been translated into eleven different languages.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue.. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.On Coronation night the ex-pat community in Hong Kong gathers for a celebration party, and while they strain to listen to the wireless, 21-year-old Joy falls in love at first sight. She is engaged within 24 hours, but will not see her fiance again for a year. In 1980, 18-year-old Patricia s rebellion is to run away to from County Wexford with her illegitimate child. Fifteen years later Sabine leaves trendy Hackney to visit the grandparents she doesn t know, and finds that time in Wexford seems to have stood still. When Sabine, her mother and grandmother are brought together, not only is a deeply buried family secret is discovered, but also some fundamental truths: about the conflict between love and duty, about women s choices, and about mothers and daughters. Perceptive debut novel . . . Be sure that your bookmark is a hankie. - Elle. Bookseller Inventory # AA69780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Stoughton General Division, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.On Coronation night the ex-pat community in Hong Kong gathers for a celebration party, and while they strain to listen to the wireless, 21-year-old Joy falls in love at first sight. She is engaged within 24 hours, but will not see her fiance again for a year. In 1980, 18-year-old Patricia s rebellion is to run away to from County Wexford with her illegitimate child. Fifteen years later Sabine leaves trendy Hackney to visit the grandparents she doesn t know, and finds that time in Wexford seems to have stood still. When Sabine, her mother and grandmother are brought together, not only is a deeply buried family secret is discovered, but also some fundamental truths: about the conflict between love and duty, about women s choices, and about mothers and daughters. Perceptive debut novel . . . Be sure that your bookmark is a hankie. - Elle. Bookseller Inventory # AA69780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperbacks 2008-01-10 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks 2008-01-10, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00063283

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperbacks 2008-01-10 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks 2008-01-10, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00539343

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder And Stoughton (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder And Stoughton, 2008. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.54
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperback
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. The captivating first novel from bestselling and RNA prize-winning author Jojo Moyes. Num Pages: 528 pages, n/a. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 33. Weight in Grams: 356. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperback (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback, 2008. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. The captivating first novel from bestselling and RNA prize-winning author Jojo Moyes. Num Pages: 528 pages, n/a. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 33. Weight in Grams: 356. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jojo Moyes
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Start At Page 1
(Emneth, WIsbech, NFK, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 4252

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.46
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780340960356

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jojo Moyes
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340960353 ISBN 13: 9780340960356
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2008. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780340960356_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book