Adriana Trigiani Big Stone Gap: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780345438324

Big Stone Gap: A Novel

3.85 avg rating
( 39,129 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780345438324: Big Stone Gap: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER · Now a major motion picture written and directed by Adriana Trigiani, starring Ashley Judd, Patrick Wilson, Whoopi Goldberg, John Benjamin Hickey, Jane Krakowski, Anthony LaPaglia, and Jenna Elfman
 
Millions of readers around the world have fallen in love with the small town of Big Stone Gap, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, and the story of its self-proclaimed spinster, Ave Maria Mulligan. In the series’ enchanting debut, Ave Maria reaches her thirty-fifth year and resigns herself to the single life, filling her days with hard work, fun friends, and good books. Then, one fateful day, Ave Maria’s past opens wide with the revelation of a long-buried secret that will alter the course of her life. Before she knows it, Ave Maria is fielding marriage proposals, trying to claim her rightful inheritance, and planning the trip of a lifetime to Italy—one that will change her view of the world and her own place in it forever. Full of wit and wonder, hilarity and heart, Big Stone Gap is a gem of a book, and one that you will share with friends and family for years to come.
 
Praise for Big Stone Gap
 
“Charming . . . Readers would do well to fall into the nearest easy chair and savor the story.”USA Today
 
“Delightfully quirky . . . chock-full of engaging, oddball characters and unexpected plot twists.”People
 
“[A] heartfelt tale . . . In an anecdotal style reminiscent of Fannie Flagg, Adriana Trigiani engagingly captures a slice of small-town America.”—San Jose Mercury News

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams

From the Back Cover:


"BIG STONE GAP is a southern novel that has the ring of truth, by which I mean
its characters are bizarre, its story is hilarious, and that it hooked me on
page one."


--John Berendt        

"Have there ever been more engaging late bloomers than Ave Maria Mulligan and her circle of doting, meddlesome friends? Adriana Trigiani writes with wit and grace about misguided romances and family secrets, and so very winningly about generous hearts. This urban Yankee reader found hours of bliss in Big Stone Gap, Virginia."
-- Elinor Lipman
"Funny, charming and original!"
-- Fannie Flagg
"It is one of my all-time favorite novels . . . unforgettable."
-- Whoopi Goldberg
"I have not enjoyed a novel this much since Cold Mountain. The characters are exquisitely and richly drawn. Ave Maria Mulligan is so real, she is almost a miracle. The story is poignant without being sentimental, and funny without being mean, and the story, the people, and the place of Big Stone Gap have stayed with me long after reading the book."
-- Rosanne Cash

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781101967447: Big Stone Gap (Movie Tie-in Edition): A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1101967447 ISBN 13:  9781101967447
Publisher: Ballantine Books, 2015
Softcover

9780375504037: Big Stone Gap

Random..., 2000
Hardcover

9780345459206: Big Stone Gap

Fawcett, 2003
Softcover

9781568959191: Big Stone Gap

Wheele..., 2000
Hardcover

9780743440127: Big Stone Gap

Pocket..., 2002
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Adriana Trigiani
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Omega Books and More Inc.
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. FAST shipping, FREE tracking, and GREAT customer service! We also offer International and EXPEDITED shipping options. Seller Inventory # 3D7DSF001PWV

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Adriana Trigiani
Published by Ballantine Books (2001)
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ashworth Books
(Sidney, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2001. Soft cover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 18FEB1536

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books (2001)
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Shipped from the UK. EXPRESS DELIVERY AVAILABLE AT CHECKOUT. Seller Inventory # mon0000423061

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.36
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

TRIGIANI, ADRIANA
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0345438329

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books (2001)
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0345438329

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Adriana Trigiani
Published by Random House USA Inc, United States (2001)
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House USA Inc, United States, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - Now a major motion picture written and directed by Adriana Trigiani, starring Ashley Judd, Patrick Wilson, Whoopi Goldberg, John Benjamin Hickey, Jane Krakowski, Anthony LaPaglia, and Jenna Elfman Millions of readers around the world have fallen in love with the small town of Big Stone Gap, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, and the story of its self-proclaimed spinster, Ave Maria Mulligan. In the series enchanting debut, Ave Maria reaches her thirty-fifth year and resigns herself to the single life, filling her days with hard work, fun friends, and good books. Then, one fateful day, Ave Maria s past opens wide with the revelation of a long-buried secret that will alter the course of her life. Before she knows it, Ave Maria is fielding marriage proposals, trying to claim her rightful inheritance, and planning the trip of a lifetime to Italy--one that will change her view of the world and her own place in it forever. Full of wit and wonder, hilarity and heart, Big Stone Gap is a gem of a book, and one that you will share with friends and family for years to come. Praise for Big Stone Gap Charming . . . Readers would do well to fall into the nearest easy chair and savor the story. --USA Today Delightfully quirky . . . chock-full of engaging, oddball characters and unexpected plot twists. --People [A] heartfelt tale . . . In an anecdotal style reminiscent of Fannie Flagg, Adriana Trigiani engagingly captures a slice of small-town America. --San Jose Mercury News. Seller Inventory # AAS9780345438324

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0345438329 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.51. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780345438324

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0345438329. Seller Inventory # Z0345438329ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0345438329. Seller Inventory # Z0345438329ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Trigiani, Adriana
Published by Ballantine Books
ISBN 10: 0345438329 ISBN 13: 9780345438324
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ballantine Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0345438329. Seller Inventory # Z0345438329ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book