Iain Banks A Song of Stone

ISBN 13: 9780349110110

A Song of Stone

3.17 avg rating
( 3,868 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780349110110: A Song of Stone
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The war is ending, perhaps ended. For the castle and its occupants the troubles are just beginning. Armed gangs roam a lawless land where each farm and house supports a column of dark smoke. Taking to the roads with the other refugees, anonymous in their raggedness, seems safer than remaining in the ancient keep. However, the lieutenant of an outlaw band has other ideas and the castle becomes the focus for a dangerous game of desire, deceit and death.

Iain Bank's masterly novel reveals his unique ability to combine gripping narrative with a relentlessly voyaging imagination. The narrative technique and sheer brio of A SONG OF STONE reveal a great novelist at the height of his powers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

This brutal tale starts in a bleak, brutal European any-war. Abel and Morgan live in a forboding castle, alone and isolated, until the conflict intrudes on their numb lives in the form of a cruel mercenary lieutenant and her violent, ravaging men who take up residence. From there, the tale disintegrates into darkness and atrocity, punctuated by Abel's memories of earlier joy and pain. Iain Banks pushes the story steadily downward, dragging the morbidly fascinated reader into the depths of human despair. Gang rape, torture, and incest are seen through Abel's uncaring eyes--this book is not for the squeamish. And although Banks strives for a Passion play in the end, what's missing is even the tiniest kernel of real redemption. Fans of The Wasp Factory and Banks's other non-science fiction works will find familiar details here, but A Song of Stone stands alone as a fable of hopelessness. --Therese Littleton

From the Back Cover:

A European nation not unlike Bosnia: armed forces roam the lawless land where dark columns of smoke rise up from the surrounding farms and houses. The war is ending, perhaps ended. But for the castle and its occupants, a young lord and lady, the trouble is just beginning.

Fearing an invasion of soldiers, the amorous couple takes to the road with the other refugees, disguised in rags. But the brutal female lieutenant of an outlaw band of guerrillas has other ideas. Just hours into their escape, the fleeing aristocrats are delivered back to the castle, where, now prisoners in their own home, they become pawns in the lieutenant's dangerous game of desire, deceit, and death.

A Song of Stone demonstrates Iain Bank's unique ability to combine gripping narrative with a soaring, voyaging imagination. This noir fable confirms his reputation as the master of things dark and debauched. Singular, haunting, and viciously wry, A Song of Stone is a tour de force of contemporary fiction.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780349139265: A Song Of Stone

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0349139261 ISBN 13:  9780349139265
Publisher: Sphere, 2001
Softcover

9780684855363: A SONG OF STONE: A Novel

Simon ..., 1999
Softcover

9780684853536: A Song of Stone: A Novel

Simon ..., 1997
Hardcover

9781858496542: A Song of Stone

Argo, 1998
Softcover

9780349110547: A Song Of Stone

Abacus, 1998
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Banks, Iain
Published by Abacus (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
CloudDreamer
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. New. Normally dispatched same day first class post from the UK. Seller Inventory # N-QB1-BAN02-1n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.46
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Iain Banks
Published by Abacus (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Seller Inventory # 9780349110110N

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.73
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Iain Banks
Published by Time Warner Books Uk (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Time Warner Books Uk, 1998. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0349110115

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Banks, Iain
Published by Abacus (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0349110115

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Banks, Iain
Published by Abacus (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110349110115

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Iain Banks
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0349110115

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Iain Banks
Published by Abacus (1998)
ISBN 10: 0349110115 ISBN 13: 9780349110110
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 1998. Paperback. Condition: New. New Ed. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0349110115n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 90.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds