Ancestral Machines: A Humanity's Fire novel

3.48 avg rating
( 179 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780356501772: Ancestral Machines: A Humanity's Fire novel

A new standalone epic space opera, set in the same world as the Humanity's Fire trilogy.
No world is safe.
The Warcage: two hundred worlds harnessed to an articial sun in a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, now its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.
Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit, the captain of a smuggler ship must journey into the Warcage to rescue his crew.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Cobley was born in Leicester, England and has lived in Glasgow, Scotland for most of his life. He has studied engineering, been a DJ and has an abiding interest in democratic politics.

His previous books include the Shadowkings dark fantasy trilogy and Iron Mosaic, a short story collection. Seeds of Earth, The Orphaned Worlds, and The Ascendant Stars, books one, two and three of the Humanity's Fire sequence, were his first full-length forays into space opera.

Review:

"Proper galaxy-spanning Space Opera ... a worthy addition to the genre."―Iain M. Banks on Seeds of Earth

"The invention is endless."―SFX on Seeds of Earth

"A well-constructed space opera...a thick and satisfying 10-course meal of starchy pageantry, meaty characters, bitter losses, and sweet romance."―Publishers Weekly on Seeds of Earth

"Seeds of Earth has everything: well-realised extraterrestrials, scheming artificial intelligences, set-piece space battles and bizarre technology from the dawn of the galaxy."―The Guardian (UK) on Seeds of Earth

"Space opera has never been in more capable hands."―The Guardian (UK) on The Orphaned Worlds

"Michael Cobley has added a fine piece of work to a grand tradition."―SF Crow's Nest on The Ascendant Stars

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Michael Cobley
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Warcage is a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering: two hundred worlds harnessed to an artificial sun. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit and a deal goes bad, it is up to the captain of a smuggling ship to journey into the Warcage and rescue his crew. Bookseller Inventory # AWC9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Michael Cobley
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Warcage is a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering: two hundred worlds harnessed to an artificial sun. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit and a deal goes bad, it is up to the captain of a smuggling ship to journey into the Warcage and rescue his crew. Bookseller Inventory # AWC9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Michael Cobley
Published by Orbit
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.31
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael Cobley
Published by Little, Brown 2016-01-14, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown 2016-01-14, London, 2016. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Cobley, Michael
Published by Little, Brown Book Group (2016)
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, 2016. Book Condition: New. Science fiction on an epic scale - a stand-alone science fiction adventure set in Michael Cobley's bestselling Humanity's Fire universe. Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks or James S. A. Corey's Expanse series Series: Humanity's Fire. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 234 x 153. . . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cobley, Michael
Published by Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group. Book Condition: New. Science fiction on an epic scale - a stand-alone science fiction adventure set in Michael Cobley's bestselling Humanity's Fire universe. Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks or James S. A. Corey's Expanse series Series: Humanity's Fire. Num Pages: 464 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 234 x 153. . . 2016. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Cobley, Michael
Published by Little, Brown Book Group (2016)
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, 2016. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FX-9780356501772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Michael Cobley
Published by Orbit
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orbit. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0356501779

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Michael Cobley
ISBN 10: 0356501779 ISBN 13: 9780356501772
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. pp. 464. Bookseller Inventory # 374321630

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds