Jamaica Kincaid Annie John

ISBN 13: 9780374105211

Annie John

3.66 avg rating
( 5,483 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780374105211: Annie John
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Jamaica Kincaid beautifully delineates hatred and fear, because she knows they are often a step away from love and obsession. At the start of Annie John, her 10-year-old heroine is engulfed in family happiness and safety. Though Annie loves her father, she is all eyes for her mother. When she is almost 12, however, the idyll ends and she falls into deep disfavor. This inexplicable loss mars both lives, as each grows adept at public falsity and silent betrayal. The pattern is set, and extended: "And now I started a new series of betrayals of people and things I would have sworn only minutes before to die for." In front of Annie's father and the world, "We were politeness and kindness and love and laughter." Alone they are linked in loathing. Annie tries to imagine herself as someone in a book--an orphan or a girl with a wicked stepmother. The trouble is, she finds, those characters' lives always end happily. Luckily for us, though not perhaps for her alter ego, Kincaid is too truthful a writer to provide such a finale.

About the Author:

John McPhee is the author of twenty-five books (all published by FSG). He won the Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction in 1998 for this work. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780374525101: Annie John: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0374525102 ISBN 13:  9780374525101
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1997
Softcover

9780099773818: Annie John

Vintag..., 2009
Softcover

9780452263567: Annie John

Plume, 1986
Softcover

9788845931635: Annie John

Adelphi, 2017
Softcover

9788420445946: Annie John

Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kincaid,Jamaica
Published by Farrar,Straus & Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Enterprise Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar,Straus & Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition; First Printing. Book and DJ New. No notes, names or ANY markings. New DJ not price clipped ($11.95). ; 1st printing. Mint. Never opened. ; 195 pages. Seller Inventory # 9876

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0374105219

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0374105219n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 112.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds