African American Jamaica Kincaid Annie John

ISBN 13: 9780374105211

Annie John

3.63 avg rating
( 4,602 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780374105211: Annie John

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Jamaica Kincaid beautifully delineates hatred and fear, because she knows they are often a step away from love and obsession. At the start of Annie John, her 10-year-old heroine is engulfed in family happiness and safety. Though Annie loves her father, she is all eyes for her mother. When she is almost 12, however, the idyll ends and she falls into deep disfavor. This inexplicable loss mars both lives, as each grows adept at public falsity and silent betrayal. The pattern is set, and extended: "And now I started a new series of betrayals of people and things I would have sworn only minutes before to die for." In front of Annie's father and the world, "We were politeness and kindness and love and laughter." Alone they are linked in loathing. Annie tries to imagine herself as someone in a book--an orphan or a girl with a wicked stepmother. The trouble is, she finds, those characters' lives always end happily. Luckily for us, though not perhaps for her alter ego, Kincaid is too truthful a writer to provide such a finale.

About the Author:

John McPhee is the author of twenty-five books (all published by FSG). He won the Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction in 1998 for this work. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
eQuip Online
(ALIQUIPPA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Shipped within 24 hrs of purchase. Satisfaction guaranteed! Although this is a new book, this item has seen minor wear from being in storage. Bookseller Inventory # 29HBGM000BKY

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0374105219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0374105219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jamaica Kincaid
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97803741052111.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1985)
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1985. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110374105219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 43.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN 10: 0374105219 ISBN 13: 9780374105211
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374105219 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0169981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds