Pablo Medina The Marks of Birth

ISBN 13: 9780374202965

The Marks of Birth

4.12 avg rating
( 8 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780374202965: The Marks of Birth
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Chronicles the life of Felicia Turner and the men in her family, forced to escape from a Caribbean island because of political turmoil and trying to cope with life in the North

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Pablo Medina emigrated from Cuba to the United States when he was twelve. He teaches at The New School University in New York City.

From Kirkus Reviews:

An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). The book opens in 1949 in a fictional Caribbean island-nation with the birth of Ant¢n Garc¡a-Turner, a sickly child much too pale for the tropical clime, born to a bourgeois family of no particular influence or power. From the beginning, however, the boy's grandmother Felicia believes he is destined for great things, partly because of vivid dreams that she interprets with the help of a local seer. She develops a special bond with her grandson, but her discovery that he carries the family's hereditary birthmark--a brown blotch on the lower back--sends her into a mysterious state that leaves her literally speechless and nearly dead. This leads her desperate relatives to summon Lucho Turner, the family's great hope and one of Felicia's favorites, who had left the country of his birth to pursue a career in psychiatry in America. Ant¢n and his parents follow a similar route when political unrest on the tiny island forces them to flee. Felicia must watch her relatives depart into a future of which she will not be a part. Medina uses his family drama to depict the modern history of Latin America, complete with US-sponsored dictatorship and repression, CIA manipulations, the economic neocolonialism of North American corporations, and cultural imperialism. He also explores the clash of cultures as the Garc¡a-Turners struggle to adapt to life in el norte. Readers will be left with little doubt that this sometimes funny, sometimes wan novel is in reality a paean to his own native land and the resilience of its people. Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc¡a M rquez. -- Copyright ©1994, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780892552870: The Marks of Birth: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0892552875 ISBN 13:  9780892552870
Publisher: Persea Books, 2003
Softcover

9780517165416: The Marks of Birth

Random..., 1995
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pablo Medina
Published by Farrar Straus & Giroux (1994)
ISBN 10: 0374202966 ISBN 13: 9780374202965
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus & Giroux, 1994. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0374202966

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pablo Medina
Published by Farrar Straus & Giroux (T) (1994)
ISBN 10: 0374202966 ISBN 13: 9780374202965
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus & Giroux (T), 1994. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0374202966

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Medina, Pablo
Published by Farrar Straus & Giroux (T) (1994)
ISBN 10: 0374202966 ISBN 13: 9780374202965
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus & Giroux (T), 1994. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110374202966

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds