The Treasure of Maria Mamoun

3.78 avg rating
( 49 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780374303402: The Treasure of Maria Mamoun

Winner of the 2017 Arab American Book Award

Twelve-year-old Maria lives a lonely, latchkey-kid's life in the Bronx. Her Lebanese mother is working two nursing jobs to keep them afloat, and Maria keeps her worries to herself, not wanting to be a burden. Then something happens one day between home and school that changes everything. Mom whisks them to an altogether different world on Martha's Vineyard, where she's found a job on a seaside estate. While the mysterious bedridden owner―a former film director―keeps her mother busy, Maria has the freedom to explore a place she thought could only exist in the movies. Making friends with a troublesome local character, Maria finds an old sailboat that could make a marvelous clubhouse. She also stumbles upon an old map that she is sure will lead to pirate's plunder―but golden treasure may not be the most valuable thing she discovers for herself this special summer.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michelle Chalfoun is a pediatric nurse who lives with her husband and children on Long Island, New York. Her first book for young readers, The Treasure of Maria Mamoun, is the winner of the 2017 Arab American Book Award for Children/Young Adults.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 4–7—A city girl moves to an island and finds her true place in the world. Twelve-year-old Maria Mamoun has never met her father, her mother works long hours at two nursing jobs, and Maria's chief entertainment is watching the birds and flowering weeds in the vacant lot across from her dingy Bronx apartment. But after bullying classmates attack Maria, her mother takes a new position as a personal nurse to an elderly film director living on Martha's Vineyard. The protagonist soon uncovers a mystery involving pirates, hidden treasure, and possibly the enigmatic film director himself. Chalfoun's deft prose captures the glories of the New England oceanside, and her well-portrayed major characters change and grow throughout the narrative. The author draws on her own experiences for well-integrated details of the heroine's half-Lebanese background. Although unfamiliar sailing terms are defined in the text, a glossary would have been a helpful addition. The tale wraps up a bit quickly, but happy endings all around fit well within this slightly old-fashioned tale, and Maria's blossoming connections with a large local family and the island itself prove to be the true treasure of the title. VERDICT Readers who enjoyed Jeanne Birdsall's "Penderwicks" series and Elizabeth Enright's "Gone Away Lake" books will appreciate this satisfying summer adventure.—Beth Wright Redford, Richmond Elementary School Library, VT

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Michelle Chalfoun
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books-FYI, Inc.
(Cadiz, KY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23MA3O009ZN1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chalfoun Michelle
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0374303401

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (2016)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus and Giroux, 2016. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780374303402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux 2016-07-12 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux 2016-07-12, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780374303402B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar Straus and Giroux (2016)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus and Giroux, 2016. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780374303402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR). Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374303401. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374303401ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR (2016)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0374303401

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Chalfoun, Michelle
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR). Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374303401 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI1036283

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Michelle Chalfoun
Published by Farrar, Straus Giroux Inc, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus Giroux Inc, United States, 2016. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Winner of the 2017 Arab American Book Award Twelve-year-old Maria lives a lonely, latchkey-kid s life in the Bronx. Her Lebanese mother is working two nursing jobs to keep them afloat, and Maria keeps her worries to herself, not wanting to be a burden. Then something happens one day between home and school that changes everything. Mom whisks them to an altogether different world on Martha s Vineyard, where she s found a job on a seaside estate. While the mysterious bedridden owner--a former film director--keeps her mother busy, Maria has the freedom to explore a place she thought could only exist in the movies. Making friends with a troublesome local character, Maria finds an old sailboat that could make a marvelous clubhouse. She also stumbles upon an old map that she is sure will lead to pirate s plunder--but golden treasure may not be the most valuable thing she discovers for herself this special summer. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780374303402

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Michelle Chalfoun
ISBN 10: 0374303401 ISBN 13: 9780374303402
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780374303402_ing

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book