Melina Marchetta Saving Francesca

ISBN 13: 9780375829833

Saving Francesca

3.96 avg rating
( 29,831 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780375829833: Saving Francesca
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will.

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.
 
Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself.

Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"This morning, my mother didn't get out of bed." So begins the saga of Francesca Spinelli, the hilarious and achingly real creation of Aussie author Melina Marchetta. Francesca used to think her biggest problem was transferring to St. Sebastian's--a school only recently turned coed: "What a dream come true, right? Seven hundred and fifty boys and thirty girls? But the reality is that it's either like living in a fish bowl or like you don't exist." But now there's this matter of her usually vibrant and annoyingly optimistic mother Mia refusing to get up in the morning. Her taciturn father doesn't have much to say on the subject, her beloved little brother Luca is anxiously looking to her for answers, and her so-called friends from her old neighborhood seem to have abandoned her. So, Francesca keeps it all inside--her frustration with school (there aren't enough girl's bathrooms and no girl's sports teams); her fear making new friends (with the few girls who do go to St. Sebastian's); and her overwhelming hatred of the smug Will Trombal, who despite being completely infuriating, is also incredibly cute. Keeping this to herself when all she wants to do is spill it to her mother is killing Francesca, but with Mia trying to make herself well again, Francesca will have to figure out how to save herself.

What makes Saving Francesca an exceptional standout in a vast field of mediocre teen chick lit is Frankie's painfully nuanced characterization. It has been ten years since high school teacher Marchetta's break out hit, Looking for Alibrandi, came out in her native Australia, and the care and precision she took in getting Francesca's voice just right is evident. As a result, there isn't a girl alive that wouldn't feel right at home in Francesca's skin. Her frank observations about boys, with their hygienically-challenged habits and their ineptitude in dealing with the opposite sex, are dead-on and riotously funny. Marchetta deftly balances Francesca's humor with a sympathetic depiction of Mia's struggle with clinical depression, creating a well-rounded novel that will prompt both laughter and tears. Fans can only hope that they won't have to wait another decade for Marchetta to gift them with another of honest and moving story. --Jennifer Hubert

From the Inside Flap:

"MOST OF MY friends now go to Pius Senior College, but my mother wouldn't allow it because she says the girls there leave with limited options and she didn't bring me up to have limitations placed upon me. If you know my mother, you'll sense there's an irony there, based on the fact that she is the Queen of the Limitation Placers in my life.
Francesca battles her mother, Mia, constantly over what's best for her. All Francesca wants is her old friends and her old school, but instead Mia sends her to St. Sebastian's, an all-boys' school that has just opened its doors to girls. Now Francesca's surrounded by hundreds of boys, with only a few other girls for company. All of them weirdos--or worse.
Then one day, Mia is too depressed to get out of bed. One day turns into months, and as her family begins to fall apart, Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is. But she doesn't yet realize that she's more like Mia than she thinks. With a little unlikely help from St. Sebastian's, she just might be able to save her family, her friends, and--especially--herself.

"From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375829826: Saving Francesca

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0375829822 ISBN 13:  9780375829826
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2004
Hardcover

9780143000976: Saving Francesca

Pengui..., 2007
Softcover

9780786273096: Saving Francesca

Thornd..., 2005
Hardcover

9780670040452: Saving Francesca

Viking..., 2003
Softcover

9780141317991: Saving Francesca

PUFFIN..., 2004
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marchetta, Melina
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VQ-9780375829833

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Marchetta, Melina
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780375829833

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Melina Marchetta
Published by Random House USA Inc, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House USA Inc, United States, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska. Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian's, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca--until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and--hardest of all--herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock. Seller Inventory # AAC9780375829833

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

MARCHETTA, MELINA
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0375829830

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0375829830 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.5. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780375829833

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf 2006-05-01 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf 2006-05-01, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780375829833B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0375829830. Seller Inventory # Z0375829830ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0375829830. Seller Inventory # Z0375829830ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0375829830. Seller Inventory # Z0375829830ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Marchetta, Melina
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375829830 ISBN 13: 9780375829833
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0375829830. Seller Inventory # Z0375829830ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book