Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)

3.72 avg rating
( 441 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780375869082: Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . .

Himiko's world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there's more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior.

Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner's Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible!

"Himiko is brave and bold. I love her!" --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author

"This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast." --School Library Journal

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nebula Award winner ESTHER FRIESNER is the author of more than 30 novels and over 150 short stories. She is also the editor of seven popular anthologies. Her works have been published around the world. Educated at Vassar College and Yale University, where she taught for a number of years, Ms. Friesner is also a poet, a playwright, and once wrote an advice column, "Ask Auntie Esther." She is married, is the mother of two, harbors cats, and lives in Connecticut.

From Booklist:

Lady Himiko is back, and she is now a full-fledged shaman. But the Ookami (wolf) clan has attacked the Matsu clan’s village, killing Himiko’s chieftain father and two of her older brothers and kidnapping her younger brother, Noboru, as a slave. Himiko’s mother cracks under the strain, and Himiko and her friend Kaya set off on a dangerous journey to rescue Noboru. The girls find help where they least expect it, and they survive horrific treatment, but not without significant loss for Himiko. Friesner knows Japanese culture and history well, citing folklore to excellent effect and addressing customs and mores. A satisfying, action-packed sequel to Spirit’s Princess (2012). Grades 6-9. --Debbie Carton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 17.99
US$ 2.84

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 9.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375873164: Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0375873163 ISBN 13:  9780375873164
Publisher: Ember, 2014
Softcover

9780375969089: Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)

Random...
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Random House Childrens Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375869085 ISBN 13: 9780375869082
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Random House Childrens Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 496 pages. 8.50x6.00x1.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0375869085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375869085 ISBN 13: 9780375869082
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Random House Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0375869085 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132096585

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Random House Books for Young R (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375869085 ISBN 13: 9780375869082
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Random House Books for Young R, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110375869085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0375869085 ISBN 13: 9780375869082
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Random House Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0375869085 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.0181800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Esther Friesner
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375869085 ISBN 13: 9780375869082
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Random House Books for Young Readers, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1st - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0375869085n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 90.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds