Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)

3.71 avg rating
( 378 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780375873164: Spirit's Chosen (Princesses of Myth)

From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . .

Himiko's world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there's more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior.

Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner's Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible!

"Himiko is brave and bold. I love her!" --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author

"This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast." -- School Library Journal


From the Hardcover edition.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nebula Award winner ESTHER FRIESNER is the author of more than 30 novels and over 150 short stories. She is also the editor of seven popular anthologies. Her works have been published around the world. Educated at Vassar College and Yale University, where she taught for a number of years, Ms. Friesner is also a poet, a playwright, and once wrote an advice column, "Ask Auntie Esther." She is married, is the mother of two, harbors cats, and lives in Connecticut.

From Booklist:

Lady Himiko is back, and she is now a full-fledged shaman. But the Ookami (wolf) clan has attacked the Matsu clan’s village, killing Himiko’s chieftain father and two of her older brothers and kidnapping her younger brother, Noboru, as a slave. Himiko’s mother cracks under the strain, and Himiko and her friend Kaya set off on a dangerous journey to rescue Noboru. The girls find help where they least expect it, and they survive horrific treatment, but not without significant loss for Himiko. Friesner knows Japanese culture and history well, citing folklore to excellent effect and addressing customs and mores. A satisfying, action-packed sequel to Spirit’s Princess (2012). Grades 6-9. --Debbie Carton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Esther Friesner
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97803758731640000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Random House 2014-04-22 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2014-04-22, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780375873164B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Friesner, Esther M.
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VQ-9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Esther M Friesner
Published by Ember, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ember, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 208 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . . Himiko s world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there s more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior. Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner s Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible! Himiko is brave and bold. I love her! --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast. -- School Library Journal From the Hardcover edition. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Esther M Friesner
Published by Ember, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ember, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 208 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . . Himiko s world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there s more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior. Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner s Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible! Himiko is brave and bold. I love her! --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast. -- School Library Journal From the Hardcover edition. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Friesner, Esther M.
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Esther M Friesner
Published by Ember, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ember, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 208 x 142 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. From princess to slave in the blink of an eye. . . . Himiko s world is falling apart. An attack by a rival clan, the Ookami, has left many from her tribe dead or enslaved. Amid the chaos and fear, Himiko hatches a plan to save her people. But just when it seems that she will outwit Ryu, the cruel Ookami leader, she is captured. Held against her will, Himiko starts to realize that not all of the Ookami are her enemies. Though she may not see her path as clearly as the spirits seem to, there s more adventure (and even unexpected love) for this princess turned shaman-warrior. Readers who love strong girl-centric adventures are eating up Esther Friesner s Princesses of Myth books, finding the mash-up of historical fiction and fantasy adventure irresistible! Himiko is brave and bold. I love her! --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author This historical fiction/mythology/fantasy blend is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rick Riordan, and P. C. Cast. -- School Library Journal From the Hardcover edition. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Ember (2014)
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ember, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0375873163

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Friesner, Esther
Published by Ember
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ember. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0375873163 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132144849

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Esther M. Friesner
ISBN 10: 0375873163 ISBN 13: 9780375873164
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 140mm x 30mm x 206mm. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 484 pages. 0.408. Bookseller Inventory # 9780375873164

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book