C. K. Kelly Martin My Beating Teenage Heart

ISBN 13: 9780385670449

My Beating Teenage Heart

3.68 avg rating
( 1,019 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780385670449: My Beating Teenage Heart
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she's plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn't remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she's trapped in a consciousness without a body and she's spending every moment watching a stranger.

Breckon Cody's on the edge. He's being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breathe. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he's barely hanging on.

Even though she didn't know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon's pain, and she's determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can't see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. Told in alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heart paints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy. My Beating Teenage Heart will appeal to fans of Jennifer Donnelly's Revolution, Amy Huntley's The Everafter, Nina LaCour's Hold Still, and Gayle Forman's If I Stay.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best Books of the Month, October 2011: Ashlyn Baptise doesn’t know where she is. Now somehow without a body she still exists in consciousness, and she finds herself drawn to a stranger. Brecken Cody is out of sorts, too. Having recently lost his sister, for which he feels partly to blame, Brecken is in the throes of grief. It is hard to talk about this novel without giving away a pivotal plot point but that the way in which Martin reveals how Brecken and Ashlyn are intertwined was unexpected—and amazing. Voice really drives the novel, making it impossible not to root for both characters as they try to navigate new emotional (and in Ashlyn’s case, physical, too) experiences. In the vein Gayle Forman’s If I Stay and Jenny Downham’s Before I Die, My Beating Teenage Heart is the type of novel that will remain with you long after you’ve read the last page. --Jessica Schein

About the Author:

C. K. KELLY MARTIN is the critically acclaimed author of I Know It's Over, One Lonely Degree, and The Lighter Side of Life and Death. She lives in the Toronto area with her husband. You can visit her website and blog at CKKellyMartin.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375868559: My Beating Teenage Heart

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0375868550 ISBN 13:  9780375868559
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Rea..., 2011
Hardcover

9780375872228: My Beating Teenage Heart

Ember, 2012
Softcover

9781548692971: My Beating Teenage Heart

Create..., 2017
Softcover

9780385670425: My Beating Teenage Heart

Double..., 2011
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

C. K. Kelly Martin
Published by Doubleday Canada (2012)
ISBN 10: 0385670443 ISBN 13: 9780385670449
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada, 2012. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0385670443

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds