Meaghan McIsaac The Boys of Fire and Ash

ISBN 13: 9780385744454

The Boys of Fire and Ash

3.54 avg rating
( 235 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780385744454: The Boys of Fire and Ash
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus 
Fans of Rick Riordan and Anthony Horowitz will want to read this action-filled debut novel that offers a new world to enjoy and a new underdog to root for.--Booklist 

Abandoned at birth, the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit know no mothers. They fend for themselves, each training their Little Brother to survive until they turn sixteen, when it’s their Leaving Day. No boy knows what’s beyond the forest. But when Urgle’s Little Brother, Cubby, is carried off by troll-like predators, Urgle and two of his Brothers embark on a quest to rescue him from a place from which no one has ever returned.
More praise for The Boys of Fire and Ash:
"McIsaac’s debut fantasy novel is fast-paced and heartstopping. . . . This self-contained story is an entertaining read that will be enjoyed by many."--School Library Journal 

"The novel is urgently gritty, with rich worldbuilding and plenty of action."--Publishers Weekly
 
"Contemplative readers will be left with questions to ponder and ethical decisions to mull as well as a satisfying and tense read."--The Bulletin  

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Meaghan McIsaac grew up in Canada. A sci-fi/fantasy nerd, she packed up all her movies and books and shipped off to the UK to complete an MA in writing for children. Meaghan eventually returned to Canada broke and worked at a series of unpaid internships at publishing houses, magazines, and gossip rags. Through it all, she was writing stories in the office, on the subway, and on her lunch breaks. The Boys of Fire and Ash is her debut novel.

Visit her at meaghanmcisaac.com and follow @MeaghanMcIsaac.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 6 Up—In the Ikkuma Pit, the Brothers stick together and look out for each other in a world with no mothers (or women in general) and it takes everything they have to survive. When their Leaving Day arrives, they go out into the world, never to return, and another young boy mysteriously appears to replace them. Urgle is a young man trying to keep himself and his "little brother" Cubby alive. He is suspicious about the outside world, and he is equally suspicious of Blaze, a Brother who has returned to the Ikkuma Pit after leaving. Blaze speaks of monsters who chased him over the wall and back into the Pit. When those same monsters kidnap Cubby and drag him into the outside world, Urgle, along with an unlikely group of Ikkuma brothers, embark on a journey to rescue Cubby and eventually find out what is waiting for them in the outside world. McIsaac's debut fantasy novel is fast-paced and heartstopping. Her world is fully formed (although it does take a while before the parameters of this universe truly comes into focus). The characters are fleshed out and feel authentic. This is a great stepping stone for those tweens looking for a postapocalyptic novel without diving head first into the violence and social mores of similar YA titles. There is a hint of romance, appropriate for the intended audience. VERDICT This self-contained story is an entertaining read that will be enjoyed by many.—Christopher Lassen, Brooklyn Public Library

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 16.99
US$ 26.34

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780385744461: The Boys of Fire and Ash

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0385744463 ISBN 13:  9780385744461
Publisher: Yearling, 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Meaghan McIsaac
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0385744455 ISBN 13: 9780385744454
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0385744455

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds